We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic dog friendly cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
Puddleduck House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Puddleduck House
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Puddleduck House
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
It's going to be another Sunny Day! (Promise!)
Bedroom 2 or Family Room - Can be two singles
Bedroom 2 or Family Room (can be two singles)
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bedroom 2 (Can be Super King or 2 x Single Beds)
Bedroom 3
En-Suite to Bedroom 3
Main Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Garage - Lots of Room for cars and bikes etc..
Puddleduck House!
Beautiful Coniston Water
Coniston Lakeside and the Bluebird Cafe
Meandering Down to Coniston Water
Coniston Boating Centre
Coniston Boating Centre
Views from Puddleduck Garden
Boating on the Lake
Glorious Walks Everywhere!
Local Walks
From the End of Ruskin Avenue (Our Street)
Along the Waters Edge, Coniston
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lauraburn...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dog friendly cottage!”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed for 1 week at Puddleduck and have no hesitations rating this house as one of the best we have stayed in and we have stayed in over 30 self catering houses. Chloe is very attentive and quick to respond to any queries you may have. I have never known a kitchen to be so well equipped with everything you could possibly need. It is more like your own home than a holiday rental. My husband loved that there were so many local maps and guides for whatever length of walk you may want to take part in. The roll top bath was sheer luxury which I loved!
The local area was delightful and only short walk down to Coniston waterside.
The local pubs were great, we particularly liked the Black Bull for lovely bar meals and great chats!
We wish we were still there and will definitely return.
Thank you Chloe

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Hi Laura, thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so pleased you had such a lovely stay - and really hope you get the chance to come again soon! Glad you loved the roll-top bath!!! Many thanks again for all your kind comments :)) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joannep04
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely winter break ”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Beautiful house in the fabulous village of Coniston. Tastefully furnished and decorated, well stocked kitchen including microwave and dishwasher. Beds really comfy. Log burner fire clean and easy to clean. Logs and kindling can be purchased in several shops in the village. Would love to return in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Hi there - thank you so much for your lovely review! So pleased you had a lovely stay and found the house had everything you needed. We look forward to having you stay again one day :)) All the best, Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horrible7
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a holiday rental”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Good central location close to pubs, shops and restaurants. Clean, spacious, comfortable and modern inside with everything you need for a short term rental. Good prompt friendly communication with owner who provided plenty of useful information.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Hi there, thank you so much for your kind review! Glad you enjoyed the house and location - we are biased, of course, but Coniston is such a fabulous place to be :)) Do let us know if you would like to stay again! All the best, Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Hi there, thank you so much for your review and kind comments! Glad you all had a lovely stay in the house - and enjoyed being so central to everything. We love the garden too - sitting looking up at the mountains is really special, especially with a cool drink of something :) Would love you to come back and stay again soon! All the best, Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester
Reviewed December 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Thank you for your review - so pleased you had a lovely stay in Puddleduck! Apologies for the wood - I bought them from the village shop in the morning as we had run out, so it may be that they had been left out somewhere :( Glad you had a great time though and enjoyed the roll-top bath!! Would love to have you back to stay again one day :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2017
Hi Kerry! Thank you so much for your review and your kind words - so delighted you had such a lovely stay!! You be welcome again anytime, do let me know! Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maryb765...
Martock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a lovely week at " Puddleduck" the house was very well equipped,beds were very comfortable,even a bottle of wine and cake left for us thankyou!.we explored the area every day and were very lucky with the weather,local pubs good especially the " Black Bull Inn " and " The Ship" walkable but we took car as it was slightley raining.would recommend this lovely cottage to friends and family thankyou Chloe for letting us share your home,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: none of it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2016
Hi there! Thank you so much for your lovely review - so pleased you had a fantastic time! I'm pleased Puddleduck was everything you'd hoped for - and the weather was fairly kind to you!! Hope you enjoyed your exploring and I hope you come back one day to explore some more :) Chloe x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing