We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb stay, with excellent service, great food, and wonderful location”
Review of Yew Tree Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yew Tree Farm
Ranked #11 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in August 2008 in the Tarn Hows room, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have a 3 year old Labrador so it took quite a long time to find a dog friendly location we really liked the look of. I have to say we were not dissapointed!

The room was really comfortable, and the attention to detail was second to none - even down to locally sourced handmade soaps in the bathroom, afternoon cakes left in the room for us (though remember this if you let your labrador into the room before you! - we lost ours on the first day).

Yew Tree Farm is a working farm, and there was lots to see. Because of this, lots of the food is sourced from the farm, including the Belted Galloway Beef and the fresh chicken and duck eggs for breakfast! - fantastic.

We can thoroughly recommend the walk from Yew Tree farm up the hill to the Tarn Hows lakes - the views are amazing.

Oh, and dont forget your swimming gear - they even have a hot tub!

We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wylliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank kcottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevePettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carolina2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank george_baker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coniston hotels
0.4 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#4 of 15 in Coniston
384 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Coniston
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Farm

Address: Yew Tree Farm A590, Coniston LA21 8DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned by Beatrix Potter and used as Hill top in the film 'Miss Potter' Yew Tree offers a unique place to stay. We offer luxurious historic guest accommodation in the Farm house, you can take a break from the modern world and step back in time. Our guest quarters have been exquisitely refurbished working with all the original features we have interior designed in period style giving the house exceptional character and a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Farm Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing