We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience”
Review of Lakeland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeland House
Ranked #1 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a poor experience at this bed and breakfast. We stayed for one night in Rm 10, which is up two narrow flights of stairs and is in a small converted loft area. We paid £80 for a very cramped space. The walls were so thin that we could hear what people were saying in the next room amnd when they put their TV on it was as if they were in the same room. The room had very poor lighting and only one bedside lamp in this twin bedded room. I went down to ask for another lamp and ask for a nother room but there was nobody available as the reception closes at 5.0 pm and no information on what to do if we wanted to speak to the owners. Very frustrating.
The breakfast was also poor. Tough as leather bacon which had clearly been kept warm for a considerable amount of time and bland tinned sliced mushrooms. Not much effort or thought put into it.
Glad to get away but need to warn others of an over priced establishment.

Room Tip: Dont go in the loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank visitor485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well what can I say, mmmm my girlfriend and I normally go self catering but I decided to give B&B a go, I'm glad I did, Lakeland House was centrally situated in the lovely village of Coniston. I made the booking by phone and from the start was left with a positive feeling about the up and coming stay,
We stayed in room 7 which had recently been re-furbished to a very high standard, on arrival we were met by the owner who was charming and couldn't do enough to make us feel comfortable.
Back to the room, the bed was very comfortable, the room very clean, the views fantastic, there was a 32 inch tv on the wall and tea/coffee, the bathroom topped it all off with a fantastic shower again all installed to a very high standard. We could not fault the cleanliness.
Breakfast was excellent, the owners very attentive and I'm sure had I kept asking for more....not that I did I would have been fed all day. A big thank you to the owners, keep up the good work, we will be back and we would both recommend this Guesthouse, Thank you. Andy, Deb and Ollie dog.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault room 7, in the evening 'The Black Bull' is close, by great food and real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Perfect base for walkers, made very welcome, nothing is too much trouble all you need to do is ask, any issues are sorted out with no fuss.
Stayed here before as its a great base for us, no loud ground floor noise rising upwards till late like you would get staying at a pub/hotel.
Great breakfast just what you need to start the day :)
Also have their own coffee shop, great coffee and cakes, welcome after long walks :)
Also access to internet.
Parking out front or round back on street, no problems.
Evening meals and a good pint 2 minute walk up the road, dogs welcome both in B&B and most pubs, just ask.
Great value and we prefer to Windemere, Windemere great to visit but Coniston is a lovely lakeland village.
Hawkshead well worth a visit especially for the xmas markets.
Definately be staying again !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janey_Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived as planned at the B&B in the rain. There was no hot water in the bathroom and the "superior" room was only very average. It had the feel of a hostel about it rather than a B&B. Breakfast was fine, though the tea tasted really strange.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me and my dad went to the adjoined Hollands cafe for breakfast and it was great. We both had the English breakfast and we couldn't fault it, the bacon and sausage was really good quality and the breakfast portion was just enough but left you wanting more.
The coffee was top notch as well. We regularly visit the area climbing and use this cafe as a breakfast stop every time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deand19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had coffee and cake a couple of months ago on a climbing trip, called in again at around 08:30 on sat to see if we could get breakfast. Wet winters day, the answer was yes. Sat down for coffee and full English, not one item disappointed us it was as you would want, delicious. We climb regular in the lakes, Coniston. We will be visiting on a regular basis due to the level of quality and service, I doff my cap, well done and keep it up.


Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped here for our wedding anniversary and went on the strength of reviews. The room was great and it was nice and quiet. It had an upmarket feel and was well worth the price. The breakfast was very good and there is a little coffee shop at the front. We managed to park in the town for free but there isn't much free parking available. Lots of nice pubs nearby but a very relaxing atmosphere. Great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#3 of 6 in Coniston
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,228 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland House

Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range: $117 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed boutique style bed and breakfast guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District in the delightful village of Coniston. Coniston Water and the Old Man of Coniston are just a few minutes walk away. Rather than being a traditional Lake District hotel, all of our rooms are offered on a bed and breakfast (B&B) basis, with local amenities from shops to dining just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lakeland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland House Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing