We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakeland House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeland House
Ranked #1 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived as planned at the B&B in the rain. There was no hot water in the bathroom and the "superior" room was only very average. It had the feel of a hostel about it rather than a B&B. Breakfast was fine, though the tea tasted really strange.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    74
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
37
178
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Me and my dad went to the adjoined Hollands cafe for breakfast and it was great. We both had the English breakfast and we couldn't fault it, the bacon and sausage was really good quality and the breakfast portion was just enough but left you wanting more.
The coffee was top notch as well. We regularly visit the area climbing and use this cafe as a breakfast stop every time we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deand19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Had coffee and cake a couple of months ago on a climbing trip, called in again at around 08:30 on sat to see if we could get breakfast. Wet winters day, the answer was yes. Sat down for coffee and full English, not one item disappointed us it was as you would want, delicious. We climb regular in the lakes, Coniston. We will be visiting on a regular basis due to the level of quality and service, I doff my cap, well done and keep it up.


Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ffdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
487 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stopped here for our wedding anniversary and went on the strength of reviews. The room was great and it was nice and quiet. It had an upmarket feel and was well worth the price. The breakfast was very good and there is a little coffee shop at the front. We managed to park in the town for free but there isn't much free parking available. Lots of nice pubs nearby but a very relaxing atmosphere. Great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had booked a room for a long weekend. Unfortunately I had to bring work with me. We therefore needed a larger room than the one we had booked. Not only did the owner gladly offer another room but she didn't charge us for it, despite it being at a higher rate.
The breakfast was perfect for a full winter day on the hill and it is certainly a place we would return to. The rooms were clean and well presented...but what really made it for us both , was the quality and flexibility of service...Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked this place for one night on a whim before I'd even checked the reviews on here and I'm really glad I did. To make the most of our day in Coniston (and climb the Old Man) we arrived at 10:30am. I'd booked the budget room and wasn't expecting to be checking in until after our walk but thought I'd pop in and check this was ok. We were checked in straight away and given a free upgrade to a larger room by a friendly and helpful guy on reception. He said the housekeeping were in the room at the moment but we could get in to leave our stuff if we wanted.

Even though there is no designated parking we had no problem finding a space right outside round the back of the hotel even though it was half term. After our walk we went straight to the room for a hot shower and were greeted by a beautiful view of the hill we'd just climbed from the bedroom window. They have a really clever little system of writing what you want for breakfast on a chalk board in the hall and the time you want it so you don't have to wait. The breakfast the next morning was really tasty and again we were served by a really pleasant member of staff. I'd definitly stay again and reccomend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

whist waiting for our hotel we stopped for lunch here on Monday, We had the most fabulous milkshakes, also had the beef and onion sandwich which was okay. Always very nice owners and worth a visit. we staying in the b&b a few years ago and was happy with the accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
5.7 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,622 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland House

Property: Lakeland House
Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeland House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully designed boutique style bed and breakfast guest accommodation in the heart of the English Lake District in the delightful village of Coniston. Coniston Water and the Old Man of Coniston are just a few minutes walk away. Rather than being a traditional Lake District hotel, all of our rooms are offered on a bed and breakfast (B&B) basis, with local amenities from shops to dining just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Lakeland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland House Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing