We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We are glad to be home, so we can get a decent night's sleep.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Inn Coniston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Inn Coniston
Ranked #5 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Chorley
1 review
“We are glad to be home, so we can get a decent night's sleep.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

Positives:
* Bathroom modern and well equipped with plenty of hot water
* Good Location

Negatives:
* Complacent management
* Full English breakfast was very poor
* Wine over priced
* Bed too small and too soft
* Service without a smile (bar one new waitress/ member of staff who was lovely)
* We were forgotten about at Dinner and Breakfast!
* Over Priced rooms
* Three star rather then four.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_birtchet_sharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    118
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
72
166
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

Thank god we didn't stay as was very disappointed with food and staff/management skills, when i complained about a meal i was eventually told to like it and lump it, and leave. Will not be going back their EVER. We did find eating out a bit on the expensive side but we did manage to get descent food at other local pubs at the same prices, so my advice would be to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wald007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emiluandamy, Manager at Crown Inn Coniston, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
I can recall the incident well as it related to quantity rather than quality. You were asked to leave the premises as you were heavily intoxicated, rude to the staff and very abusive. As explained to you at the time our chef uses good quality local meat and we feel the dish you chose is reasonably priced at £8.95.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

the first night 3 of us stayed, the second, we had a party of 13 staying.the hotel was clean and tidy.the rooms were tired (carpet had holes,bedding had holes)
i'd ordered flowers and champagne for my son and daughter in laws room vie email. on arrival i was told i hadnt asked for flowers and that the lady had checked my email.on return i checked my email(and i had requested them) flowers were delivered later.the food was of poor standard, my husband and our daughter couldnt finish their meal.i didnt eat anything.the following day both of them had upset stomaches.we were thankful that the reception was at another hotel nearby.
the bar staff were obliging and on return we had our own entertainment of guitars and singing.
breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teenArran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Just spent an enjoyable few days here. Food and (especially) beer quite expensive, even by Lake District standards, but value restored by "5 day special break" deal which includes 3 course evening meal. Fairly simple, non-fussy menu but good quality fresh ingredients, particularly enjoyed the salmon, bacon and local sausages. Excellent location and reasonably sized free car park. Rooms basic but clean and comfortable enough, beds a bit hard for my liking. Friendly service from manageress and waitresses. Note: the bar is the only place in Coniston with SKy Sports, which was great for us as we needed to watch some footie, but may not appeal to all I suppose...!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete040564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed only one night. Perfectly average hotel with nearly no charm save for one lovely waitress at breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Two nights stay in a family room. This Inn is rated a 4 star however with my experience in hotels and accommodation I would rate it a 3 star. Great location in centre of village good size family room. Room had a stale smell.. beds were very lumpy and uncomfortable, beds require extra pillows. Bathroom clean with lovely white fluffy towels however some attention required to occassional chipped tile, and bathroom light not working. Great outlook from window however could do with a cleaning. Plasma tv however no remote control to be found. Breakfast average, no kids cereals and sausages were burnt on both mornings, cold toast not my favourite thing!. I would not stay here again as we had uncomfortable night sleep due to beds and this is certainly not a 4 star. Average accommodation

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond4owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

A truely great b&b/pub.... excellent food and accomodation....... very friendly staff...... great beer and excellent views..... one of the best places to base yourself in the lakes... you must follow the road to Hawkshead and have a go on the windermere ferry!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hondant700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
6.0 mi away
Merewood Country House Hotel
Merewood Country House Hotel
#5 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
5.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn Coniston

Property: Crown Inn Coniston
Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Inn Coniston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description for Crown Hotel, Coniston - Twelve comfortable ensuite bedrooms offering 24hr reception and daily housekeeping.The Crown Hotel Coniston situated in the heart of the English Lake District surrounded by some of the worlds finest scenery. The Lake district is ideal for all outdoor interests such as walking, fishing, sailing, and mountain biking, or at a slower pace you can enjoy visiting Brantwood (John Ruskins home), Hilltop home of Beatrix Potter, The Ruskin Museum, or take a trip aboard the steam yacht Gondola. A warm Lakeland welcome to the Crown Hotel situated in the center of Coniston village. Offering fine ales, good food and superb hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Inn Coniston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Coniston Hotel Coniston
Crown Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing