We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to base yourself in the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crown Inn Coniston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crown Inn Coniston
Ranked #5 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
Oldham
2 reviews
“Great place to base yourself in the lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

The Crown gave us a perfect solution for a weekend away as a cycling club, plenty of spacious and very clean rooms available. Plenty of parking and situated in the middle of Conniston. Great food and able to help us out with early breakfasts.

Good lively bar made it a great stay for us all. Though we went as a group of 8 cyclists I would like to stay again with the family.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldhamBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    119
    40
    17
    20
See reviews for
75
169
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Just back from a five night stay at The Crown and couldn't fault it, Good food, friendly staff, nice clean room, Location is perfect for starting walks, Will definately will return. Keep up the good work Gail and Ian

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel so ignore the ratings above except the location which is perfect for those of you who love walking in the mountains.
After a walk up Coniston Old Man and its close fells we dropped in for afternoon which I rate as the worst I've ever had and it cost about £7.50! How hard is it to provide a scone with strawberry jam and some clotted cream?
The 'jam' looked like it came as a pre-formed disc which fitted the scone perfectly! Anyone ever seen that before? The cream was straight out of an aerosol can which then melted into a sloppy mess. It was a very warm weekend.
Looking around the food looked pretty ordinary.
But this is just my opinion. Go and check it out for yourself if only to see the miniature jam frisbee!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverdale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

We booked 2 nights at the Crown Inn via the telephone. We requested a room for 2 adults and 1 child. They neglected to tell us that on our first night, there was a loud and ghastly singing act playing until midnight in the bar and that our room was directly above the bar. Needless to say, it was a loud and painful experience. When I went downstairs to request another room, no member of staff answered the bell. I eventually spoke to a member of staff via phone at 11.15pm. He offered no apology and no explanation as to why they gave a family a room above this awful act. The next day we requested another room which was unavailable. Thankfully, the singer was not there during second night and we were able to sleep. Again, no apology, no explanation and no offer of price reduction. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasedont_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilling West, Richmond, North Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

We went to Coniston for a night tasting real ale and we were not disappointed. We had our very own mini beer festival with some characterful pubs and even a microbrewery. The best kept beer by far was at The Crown Inn, where we were staying. Their Cumbria Way and Hartley's XB beers were exceptional. Both were clear, fresh and bright, a credit to the cellar man.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxx59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

stayed at the crown inn with a group of ramblers. rooms were spacious and well furnished, food nicely cooked, especially the veggies and plentiful. disturbed by the juke box in the bar on the first night, altho it went quiet at about 11.00pm. staff efficient and friendly. very good value for money at this well appointed hotel

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulavinaka_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Arrived in the rain as you would expect in the Lakes, rang the bell in reception and waited, rang again and still I waited, then wandered into the bar area before finally meeting a member of staff...room can only be descrided as dated and very average and we have stayed in far better B+B's at lower prices, slept OK until the heating came on and the rads made some strange and loud noises!! Breakfast is best descibed as wet and greasy and reminisant of a 70's transport cafe. serving staff appear distant and un-iterested. could have easily departed without paying as again a long wait ensued before the waitress advised that she would "give the girl a shout"!! You get better servicebetter in a travel Inn

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn Coniston

Property: Crown Inn Coniston
Address: Tilberthwaite Avenue, Coniston LA21 8ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Inn Coniston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description for Crown Hotel, Coniston - Twelve comfortable ensuite bedrooms offering 24hr reception and daily housekeeping.The Crown Hotel Coniston situated in the heart of the English Lake District surrounded by some of the worlds finest scenery. The Lake district is ideal for all outdoor interests such as walking, fishing, sailing, and mountain biking, or at a slower pace you can enjoy visiting Brantwood (John Ruskins home), Hilltop home of Beatrix Potter, The Ruskin Museum, or take a trip aboard the steam yacht Gondola. A warm Lakeland welcome to the Crown Hotel situated in the center of Coniston village. Offering fine ales, good food and superb hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Crown Inn Coniston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Inn Coniston Hotel Coniston
Crown Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing