We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for one night, which was well priced for a Saturday stay. The welcome was friendly, considering we were 30 minutes later than our evening arrival time.
The room was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was modern, and there was no noise from any other rooms or outside. There were many extras, a television/DVD player, coffee, tea, and biscuits, and a heated towel rail. There was nothing that I could fault. There was even a really well put together guide book with local information about where to eat and what to see and do.
The breakfast was brilliant, great value for money, and served very promptly. The manager gave us great advice about where to park while we were hiking.
I would recommend this to anyone, it's one of the best BnB's I have stayed in.

Room Tip: The Woodland room has a private patio to sit out on, which is not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RuthEChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate it and hope other guests do too, Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 148 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Browside for three nights in October and chose Browside after reading all the reviews. This is one of the most cosy and homely B&B's we have ever stayed in. Helen Dugdale, the hostest, made our stay at Browside very welcoming. When we enquired about local walks or places of interest she was very helpful in supplying local guides and explaining the best routes. Each day we were served a delicious English breakfast with fresh eggs from the free range chickens at the B&B. If you give Helen at least a days notice she will pack a lunch for you for a small fee which came in useful when we set off to walk up The Old Man mountain. Another homely touch was the fact there would be freshly baked flapjacks left in jar by the main door.

If you are travelling by train I would recommend that you get the train to Windermere and then get a taxi to Browside. If you are inetrested in exploring local area on foot then Lake Coniston is a 25min walk from the B&B while Coniston itself is a 45min walk. For the more adventerous I would recommend tackling The Old Man which is a 4.5hr walk round route from Coniston. Also for some good pub grub and some local ale the next town Torver is only a 15min walk away. The Wilson Arms is highly recommended.

This B&B is great for married couples who are looking for a quiet and romantic short break away. My wife and I were fortunate with the weather as it took a turn for the worst on the day we left. Probably best to go to Coniston between April and October. My wife and I would definitely come back to Browside B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rizla300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you very much for the great review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

very comfortable stay here while attending pic nic cinema at Brantwood. Pleasant (if muddy ) walk to the pier for the Coniston ferry to Brantwood. Great cinema experience despite the rain (thanks to our fishermans shelter). Fabulous view at delicious breakfast , lots of good advice from Helen regarding route up Old Man , restoraive packed lunch at the summit.
nner at the Church in Torver, short walk from B&B, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2zombies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mave0, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for the review, I remember you walking to Brantwood in the rain to watch a film, it was so muddy and wet, not our usual September weather but you made the most of it. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay,
Regards Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Location
Situated overlooking the A593 which is handy when arriving on a dark night as we did. Overlooks Lake Coniston, with fabulous views.

Rooms
Our party stayed in the Pine View (twin) and Woodland (double) rooms which do not overlook the Lake, but that did not bother us as we had little patio seating areas outside our patio doors with a great view of the field and woods at the back of the house. Great fun watching the sheep and hens.
Powerful shower facilities were so welcome after a day of walking – if you need a jacuzzi to soothe your aching muscles there is the Langdale Country Club and Spa not too far away. Tea, coffee and biscuits, hair dryer, shampoo and soaps also available. The rooms were cosy with great beds and quality bedding. Digital TV/radio also available.

Breakfast
Is at 8.30. Select your cooked breakfast the night before, there is a wide choice, and it is cooked beautifully. The Breakfast Room is wonderful with cracking views of the surrounding scenery. Helen is your friendly host and she is very sociable, but not intrusive. If you need a packed lunch for the day let her know in advance, she does a great one at a reasonable price.

Walking / pubs
Plenty of walks that you can do from the B&B so you can leave the car for the day. There are two pubs within walking distance that are good for food. The Church House Inn had a great atmosphere, especially with their Halloween Festivities ! Menu details are in your packs in the bedrooms which is useful. You do need to book your meals though, and don’t forget your torch for when you walk back.

Cash
Browside just takes cash and cheques. Cash machines are not readily available close by, only in the shop/garage in Coniston during opening hours so make sure you have got enough with you. Ambleside is about 25 minutes drive away if you forget.

Would we go back to Browside ?
Definitely.

Room Tip: If you desperately need a lake view then ask for the Lake View room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mave0, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for the time and thought you have put into this very kind review, We really appreciate it and think other guests will too, when choosing where to stay in the Lake District.

Kind regards, Helen & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here recently for one night. The B&B was easy enough to find just out of town on the right next to large fields with sheep. The hostest was very kind, polite and professional. We had a warm, cozy room with a comfortable bed. The view during breakfast was great. The sun rose very slowly over the mountains as the sheep grazed on the grass. Also a very nice, gentle border collie (?) roamed the livingroom the previous night, but not during breakfast. Why only three green circles? Unfortunately there is no bathtub and the shower is tiny. Snug in the corner and not square, but a round-triangular design if that makes sense. I am not that big and it was tough to move around. And even though our room overlooked the grassy fields, mountains, and unfortunately the morning garbage. Bread crusts, carrots, celery, and whole slices of bread were thrown on the lawn for the chickens to eat. Too bad the beautful scenery quickly switched to a barnyard feeding area. Hmm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freedomtrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mave0, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

I am pleased you enjoyed your 1 night stay at Browside B&B and hope you had a good flight back to New York, I am sorry you felt you had to mark us down for not having a bathtub, as you didn't book a room with bathtub you booked an ensuite room with a power shower the shower is quadrant shower. I do have a larger shower in room 2 if needed,

Please be assured what you saw in the field was not garbage. We have free range chickens to provide free range eggs, I feed the chickens on hen corn and pellets twice a day at the rear of the house, the only reason I throw vegetables into the field at the front of the house is to encourage the chickens around to the front because guests like to watch them, had you mentioned it I could have explained it was a treat for the chickens and guests certainly not garbage on the lawn.

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Lovely little B&B would definitely stay again, very clean modern room. Great breakfast with a lovely view from the dining room. Warm welcome, from friendly and informative Helen - great service with feeling intrusive.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midsrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mave0, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for the kind helpful review, Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Started coming here September 2011, this is feeling like our second home. Lovely rooms clean, perfect breakfast, fantastic hostess, amazing views over breakfast all thanks to alan and your hardwork into making this a perfect retreat for us, see you in May can`t wait

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mave0, Owner at Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, its a huge compliment when guests return to Browside,
see you next spring Helen & Allan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coniston hotels
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
703 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
304 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
314 reviews
0 mi away
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
Wheelgate Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Coniston
53 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#6 of 15 in Coniston
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browside & Underwood Self Catering Cottages

Address: Little Arrow,Near Coniston,Cumbria | Browside, Coniston LA21 8AU, England (Formerly Browside Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Coniston
Price Range: $45 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browside is a large well equipped self catering house it sleeps 4- 12 set in lovely gardens with a hot tub. Situated a the foot of Conison Old Man, A perfect location for walking with lake shore and fell paths from our door,Park your car and stroll to nearby country pubs for a tasty pub lunch, Lots to do in the area horse riding, boating centre, historic houses,swimming pool/spa,shopping.We also own&let Underwood Cottage situated next door,it sleeps 2-6 in 3 ensuite bedroooms,full fitted kitchen,large lounge,country style garden with patio & new hot tub,parking for 3 cars ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing