We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice but please fix the wood burner!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DCull
Tiptree, England
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Quite claustrophobic but ok”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in August, The cottage lies in a very small hamlet near to Lake Conistion. It is situated on a small crescent off of the main road. Parking is only available on this little road outside the cottage. There are several steps up to the cottage door.
Entry is via a double doored porch. The outer door is a very old, solid wooden door, and the inner door is a stable style door.
The cottage is obviously very old and this is charming in it's way but the down side is it is very dark and claustrophobic particularly downstairs. This is added to by there being no rear entrance or garden. So the only way in or out is via the front door. This may not be a problem for some people but for anyone with claustrophobia I would advise against this property.
The facilities in the cottage are fairly standard. There is a microwave, oven, dishwasher and washer dryer. The washer dryer worked perfectly well but made the most awful noise on spin cycles, it may need looking at.
The kitchen layout is a bit awkward to work in but as we were only there for a week it was tolerable.
The bedrooms are a lovely large size, and both have en suites.
There are some lovely walks from the cottage and I would certainly recommend doing some investigating nearby as there were some lovely views.
One thing to add is that there was building work going on in the building next to the cottage and although this can't be helped it was rather disturbing.
All in all it is nice enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The walks are very nice to the rear of the property
Liked least: The lack of a rear entrance/exit
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael G
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice but please fix the wood burner!”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I'm very familiar with the area and this cottage was in the perfect location to suit our needs. Nice attention to details with the decor downstairs (horse bits etc). Bedrooms a good size with comfortable mattresses and bedding. Plenty of hot water. Kitchen mostly very well equipped but could do with a big pan for boiling pasta! Lots of board games to keep the family entertained in the evenings (to the extent that we didn't switch the TV on once in 5 days). We didn't have any issues with cleanliness - no cobwebs or dust and bedding and towels smelt fresh. However, very disappointed with the wood burner. It doesn't pull. Read the instruction manual, went through 2 packets of firelighters but it kept going out. The only way to keep it lit was to keep the door wide open, but no fireguard provided. Also, the living room could do with a bit more lighting as it was very dim at night. Apart from that, we had a lovely and comfortable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Liked least: Wood burner not working
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Having spoken with the owner we can confirm that the issues with the wood burner have now been addressed. Please get in touch if we can assist you any further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In need of a 'good clean' and TLC”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Where do I start, there was so much wrong with the cottage we were left disappointed. This was a family holiday for 5 and a tiny well behaved dog.
The first main issue was the overall cleanliness, dust and webs that could only have been there for months, and a strong odour of dog/foist. We had to clean everything we used (bowls, cutlery & glasses), and had no desire to use the toaster or coffee machine due to the filth.
In the bathrooms, we used a fulll pack of antibacterial wipes before we could use them, one bathroom had a shower with mixer taps which didn't work properly, the other shower in the family room filled with water so you needed to keep turning if off to let it drain away.
The house was full of spiders and webs making it so off putting to our daughter, we moved out her bed and had to vacuum the whiole area - it was then we found out the vacuum absolutely reaked and left the whole room stinking of dirty dog!!! Believe me, everything everywhere in this house was covered in dust and hangIng with cobwebs.
The bedding and towels were grubby looking, and we were only supplied two hand and two bath towels for the family room for three! There were so many things not up to scratch such as uncomfortable lumpy beds and pillows, no opening window in kitchen, one spare toilet roll to last us the week, the old porch door dropping off etc I could go on!
Overall we were all left extremely disappointed by our stay - I know it's a 17th century farmhouse, but we should expect 21st century cleanliness. This tired place needs a professional clean in all departments, surfaces and corners, and could do with being shown some TLC on a much more regular basis - it was certainly left cleaner than when we arrived!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can confirm that following your comments about the woodburner that maintenance has taken place at the property. The owner of the property would also like you to know that they have hired a different cleaner to work at the property. Please get in touch if we can assist you any further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhittl...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing break in lovely scenery”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to get away from it all then look no further than this lovely cottage in Water Yeat. The cottage is warm, cosy and full of character but most of all the peace and quite and beautiful views make for a great relaxing week. Don't let the fact that it is 5 miles from Coniston put you off there are some lovely walks from the door, Beacon Tarn to Torver being one of them and you are close to the Old Man walk, further afield you have Wast Water and Grazedale forest. Ulverston has a Booths supermarket for the essentials and that is only a 15 minute drive away.
The cottage has all you need and don't be put off too much by any comments of outdated ness as this all adds to its charm, the shower is really warm and powerfull and really wakes you up in a morning, if I had to pick at anything I would say that the bed in the front bedroom could do with a comfier mattress but that is being really picky, it didn't stop me sleeping in any way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy ness
Liked least: The mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael c
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lovely peaceful tranquil”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

very nice old cottage. loads of character - thick walls etc - probably goes back 250 years or so.
Furnishings and traditional stone floors were nice. Wood burner was OK (ish) - needs some TLC.
Bedrooms and bathrooms very nice. No noise from traffic.
Can walk from front door.
Next door cottage is being refurbished - but this will not disturb a stay here at all.
Only slight negative is - lack of decent kitchen equipment - could do with a new set of crocks and glasses (and oven door on it's last legs). I would certainly stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and 'quaint-ness'
Liked least: kitchen equip
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing