We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Down!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Used to be good - now resting on laurels and maybe their reputation for brewing. Overpriced but average bar food in gloomy surroundings that are getting to look more tired by the visit. There are better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Black Bull Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 449 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

We called by on spec for a nights accommodation at this lovely inn. Our four poster room was delightful and for the price, you cannot grumble. The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful, and the service was good. We only had one night but the three members of staff we encountered were extremely welcoming, helpful and polite. Our evening bar meal was superb and we will be returning without a doubt. Overall, good value for money and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lLevidoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This is exactly what we were looking for. Superb efficient service, friendly staff, locals drinking at the bar, great food and an absolutely lovely pint of Oatmeal Stout.
Well worth a visit!
Wish we lived less than 250 miles away....if we did we'd be there every weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you like your food and more especially, love good ale, then this is the place for you.
One of the best bar meals I have had for many a long day, and that was great. But the quality of the beer from the Coniston Brewery Company really hits the spot!.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our sort of pub!! The Coniston Brewing Company beers make you realise just what tasteless liquid some of the popular brands really are. We tried a few and favourites are Bluebird XB, Infinity IPA and for the brave No9 Barley Wine is a must try. Had two evening bar meals in a three day stay in Coniston. The beer battered Haddock was excellent and the Sirloin was even better. Great beer, great food, lovely staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaryB114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited for the first time on a last minute booking and will definitely be returning. The room was spotless and well appointed. The power shower was the best we have ever used and was very welcome after our walk on Sunday. The food was excellent, the best risotto I have ever tasted and we couldn't have asked for better service, nothing was too much trouble even when we brought our table reservation forward one hour. All staff were very courteous and attentive. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAandYJONES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have eaten and drunk at this Hotel on six occasions now and we are returning in June for more of the same. Can,t wait and neither can the dog!!! Although we have not stayed in the Hotel proper, if it is anything like our experience in the "Pub", it must be super. The staff are so polite it shows up other establishment in the town. Well done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
674 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
289 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: $153 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing