We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveler rating
203
178
50
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
178
50
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblack bullthe pubown brewerygreat beerbrewed on sitebarley wineoatmeal stoutchillibluebird xbcumberland sausageveggie optionsspecials boardreal aleate herefish and chipslake districtbar meals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 480 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Right on the main street but got a great buzz about it. Sat outside & ventured inside for food. Had light snack for lunch which was good & quickly served. £6 for cheese, tomato & onion toastie possible bit pricey but was delicious & huge with small salad garnish. Excellent selection of beers & fab u could sample three thirds for cost of a pint-made u try lots of different ones. Wi fi free & excellent connection, beer a bit pricey compared to other pubs which made us move on after lunch. Staff all friendly, will return.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Please read all. Stayed at the Hotel June 2012 Room was ideal for family of 3, bathroom needed a clean, 'hair' in the bath. Bar Staff very poor, unfriendly waited to get served, partner thought l had got lost took that long, while locals came and went, beer was fair not great as was led to believe (l used to run a pub and had great real ales on tap)
Food on the night was terrible, sent out a black burnt gammon, son couldn;t eat it, sent it back and got what we ordered, with a remark from waitress 'that looks so much better than the other one'. ( why send it out then ??) Ate out for lunch and evening meal after this,
Next morning at breakfast what a lovely surprise, lovely breakfast room, great staff, very tasty breakfast, was like another hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stopped here for one night after camping for a week...Lovely room, the staff couldn't do enough for you, amazing beers (from the micro-brewery that's attached) Food was gorgeous. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pykelet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Another great stay at the Black Bull, ok I'm a real ale lover so that helps but the breakfasts and the evening meals were of the same high standard as the beer. We have stayed here several times and have had a different room each time, all of a good standard. On previous visits we have had meals in other pubs in Coniston just for a change but there is no need to do that,as the food in the Black Bull is so good. A bonus was being shown around the Coniston brewery which is part of the pub.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front which meant we could hear the drinkers outside until late, this didn't bother us but if you want peace & quiet ask for a room at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Sadly we only stopped for lunch with our 3 girls I would have loved to have stayed and got through some of the beers on offer but had to drive the family back to Lakeland Haven so Coke for me!
Only had a quick lunch, couple of toasted sandwiches, chips and kids meals etc but food was quick, hot, well cooked, well presented and very nice, not too steeply priced either. Staff behind the bar had a smile, very helpful, could have stayed all day!!! It's an unashamed proper old English pub and rightly so, right down to a dog asleep in the lounge and a pipe being puffed outside!!!
When we go back to the utterly stunning Coniston, I won't be driving and we will return!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poowiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews