We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Poor Service and Tiny Rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Poor Service and Tiny Rooms!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I booked for 2 nights this weekend and I can honestly say I will not be booking to stay there again. To pay £100 a night for a room I would have at least expected a better quality of service than what I received. A couple we know, had booked in just for the one night and received a luxury room with a four-poster bed and chaise lounge sofas in, where as myself who had paid double that for 2 nights, received a box room. You walked in and there was the double bed at your knees, if you opened the cupboard door, you wouldn’t have been able to squeeze past the bed it was so crammed in. The window was a sky light so at 4am you were woke up with a bright light in your eyes, even when using the blind! And as for the shower/bath ensuite, there was no shower – sorry it was hanging on the back of the door and you had to plug it into the taps so this was misleading in the literature.
On the first evening there, we ate in the pub and although the food was enjoyable and tasted good, it was very overpriced at £18 for lamb! I can’t say it was the best meal I’ve had and so don’t feel i received the quality of food I paid for. We ate across the road the next night in Harry’s Cafe which was much more accommodating.
The first morning in the hotel we went for breakfast and the older lady who was waitressing got teas and coffees and took a breakfast order for one table and then completely ignored our table and another guests table as if we were invisible. After waiting 15 minutes, a waiter finally came through to the breakfast room and I had to ask him if I could order. When my breakfast arrived, there was plenty on it and it was all good (minus my scrambled eggs which were still slightly runny).
Overall, this hotel is not worth £100 a night, poor service and small rooms. There are other hotels in Coniston which are either cheaper or similar price but you get the service you pay for there. I would stick to just drinking their bluebird ale at this pub as it’s the only thing they have got right and even that’s still expensive! And if you want to waste your money here, then stay in Room 12 – that was the four poster bed room!!

Room Tip: Room 12 is a 4 poster bed & chaise lounge sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleigh3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    166
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
205
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We have just stayed at the Black Bull, Coniston for two nights as part of a walking holiday. We were situated in the cottages which are separate from the main building but literally out of the back door. We found them clean, warm and spacious, more than adequate for a few nights stay. They have a large ensuite shower room and a nice airy feel to the bedroom.

We ate both evenings at the Black Bull and found the food to be very varied and fresh. I had fish both nights and can honestly say it was the freshest fish I have had in a long while. My wife had the vegetarian options, both which were excellent.

The beer may be a little expensive but hay ho, you're on holiday and its brewed on site. Worth paying for the quality of the ales and excellent ambience of the Black Bull.

Couldn't fault any of the staff, all whom were very helpful. The breakfast is very good and includes a full cumbrian fayre, if you have the room.

Room Tip: Try the Bluebird Cottage, straight through the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short break at the Black Bull and have had another really good stay. We received a very warm and efficient welcome from a (new?) member of the team, a young guy who I think is called Steve, who really went the extra mile to ensure we wanted for nothing during our stay.
Room was clean and well appointed, with hindsight we should have requested a room with a king-size bed but that was not a big problem as we were very comfortable.
Breakfasts and evening meals were to the usual high standard,the main dining room is closed until the new kitchen is installed but this didn't impact in any negative way on our holiday.
Thanks again to everyone at the Black Bull, and Lorraine we're sorry to have missed you but hopefully will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILEY NORTH YORKSHIE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

12 mates annual cycling holiday- 10 cyclists with 2 back up crew. We ere made extremely welcome by the manager who went out of his way to ensure we had a very good weekend. Very good food and the beer brewed on site was an added bonus. Can can thoroughly recommend for a weekend away in the lakes. Verygood value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wotton under edge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Lovely welcome, food good very clean and value for money will certainly re-visit

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarie_berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2011

From the minute we arrived here, we had nothing but utter kindness from every member of staff we encountered. The triple room we shared was just super, plenty of room for the three of us with all our baggage, lovely shower room, bright, clean and cheerful! Breakfast and dinner were beautifully cooked and we were never tempted to go out to look elsewhere for an evening meal. Yes, yes, yes, the Black Bull fulfilled all our expectations, and more, and we can't wait to book again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Booked 4 rooms for a friends get together. All rooms were terrific, both in the annex and main building. All were of a good size, clean and adequately kitted out.
Breakfast too was equally good, served by great staff; attentive and engaging.
I don't get the bar pricing complaints. You're buying locally (next door!) produced ale as opposed to the usual run of the mill . Anyway as I live in the South, it's still cheaper!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whukap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
652 reviews
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
6.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing