We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Pros Superb location, accommodation (lovley room with a ncie view of the lake) and hospitality.
Cons breakfast room very busy, had to wait to have table relayed not really a problem though. Breakfast was good, restaurant had a fantastic view of the snow covered mountain.

Did not use the bar so cannot comment, Did not have the evening meal menu sounded very good but a little over priced at £24.95 a head for 3 course

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (695)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 695 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

We were warmly welcomed on arrival at the Waterhead and that warmth continued throughout our visit. Staff were attentive and approachable and we used their good knowledge of the local area on several occasions. We stayed in a what must have been a recently refurbished family room - twin beds and a bunk bed. The room was spacious and well-decorated. Breakfast was tasty and well cooked and the restaurant offers breath-taking views of the Old Man of Coniston. The location of the Waterhead makes it extra special. It's right on the shore of beautiful Coniston water, 5 minutes from the lovely village of Coniston which has three pubs - one of which (the Black Bull) is outstanding - especially if you like Bluebird Bitter. Also close by are Tarn Hows and Grizedale Forest - two beautiful places. Hawkshead Village is only 10 minutes drive away. we are already talking about going back to the Waterhead next year - we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drystonewall0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We decided to treat ourselves during the holiday period and stay in what looked like a nice hotel rather than the usual Travelodge experience. We were so disappointed. The bedroom was cold, small and needed decorating. The bathroom was colder and dirty - the loo roll was just placed on the cistern, and tissue box lay empty - this is not what I expect from a "classic" hotel. The only shining star of this experience was Lottie on reception who was very friendly and helpful working hard in the evening fixing problems (indicative of the hotel) and the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilcr66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We booked a break to just get away from our troubles for a night. Greeted by a lovely, friendly lady called Margaret, she booked us in, helped us upstairs with our cases and served us cream teas when we came back down stairs, all with a smile and friendly conversation....... but where were the other staff????? No one to be seen other than what must have been a manager in her office, sitting with the door ajar, but oblivious to the going on outside her door.
At 7pm we venture down stairs for evening meal to be met by the delightful Lottie...again friendly, polite and helpful, checking people in, serving at the bar and answering the ringing phone. We browse the menu, until the waitress comes to take our order.... lo and behold it's our receptionist from earlier....
We order and are taken into the restaurant a few moments later, past the managers office (yes still sat there, with the door ajar).
Margaret, our first receptionist was to be our waitress for the evening, helped in part in the restaurant by Lottie, nothing was to much trouble for either of them and other guest around us also agreed
We chatted with Lottie well into the evening as we enjoyed our drinks. The managers door was shut by now. Did she fall asleep in there?
Next morning we finally met the manager, who was this time behind reception! Yey, she needed lessons in customer service from her other 2 staff members,.Grumpy, ill mannered and very false are just a few of the descriptive words that I could use to describe her.
From our experience this hotel could be a real gem, but it needs strong direction and another half dozen staff members of the same caliber as Lottie and Margaret who could both run this hotel with their eyes shut, that I am certain of!
Oh the chef is to die for too, our meals were fab, especially the creme brulee and the lamb shanks! Thanks to those who contributed to our stay, pull your socks up to those who did not.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

we stayed at waterhead hotel for bankholiday weekend! when we first arrived at the hotel i was impressed with the location! fabulous veiws and town within walking distance! the hotel receptio area and the halls could do with revamping but hotel rooms are great and are cosy and clean! bed was comfy too! we didnt eat at the hotel for the evening meal because the price was 24.95 per head and i thought that this was pretty steep! but there was plenty of pubs and restaraunts 2 mins away! breakfast was included in the price of the room but to be honnest it wasnt all that great unless you like fish for breakfast! it wasnt very varied at all and was very basic! i would stay at the water head hotel again because it was a bargin for the location and views!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Stayed here with big family group for birthday party in February and although the hotel looks rather dated in parts, the rooms were fine and the location is stunning. We enjoyed ourselves much more than in the pretentious Malmaison Liverpool where we all stayed the previous night..

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Where to start ?........... Perhaps with the positives ; The location ........... oh and some of the staff. As soon as we stepped in to the hotel , we felt the firsts twangs of disappointment . It's very drab and in need of TLC. The staff on duty at reception however , were friendly and quite helpful . We were given the keys to room number 11 , this room has to be the worst hotel room we have ever slept in certainly for the prices we were paying !!!!!! There was A window , high up and all you could see were the slates on the roof and a family of crows (large !!!) .We of course went down to complain and the receptionest told us there were no other rooms available that night or the next but could give us anoter room on our third and last night . We were not at all happy with this , but wanting to enjoy our time we let it go and accepted. Not knowing the area we opted to eat in the restaurant !!!!!........ oh dear, how can you cremate a ribeye steak on the outside and still have it rare on the inside ?. I can only suppose that the griddle or whatever it was cooked on was desperately in need of a clean. The 'sauce' was equally tinged with a most unpleasant tang of something that had stuck to the bottom of the pan. No futher forays were attempted into the kitchens for meals, but breakfast had been paid for ....... more on that later. In the dingy , dismal room 11 , we awoke to a cocophony of 'birdsong' from our friends the Crows , undeterred we head for the shower . It seems that room 11 had another surprise for us. The shower did not work, no matter where you put the dial, it chucked out cold water for 1 min then piping hot for 1 min, causing a very strange combination of sounds from the person in the shower. Persevering , we had an in out in out shower to get ready to go down for breakfast and once sated by our glorious Cumberland breakfast we could tackle the manager about getting the room changed or at the very least the shower fixed. The breakfast ......... I can only say the presentation was poor and the content was worse. I reckon if I had been a Vet, I could have got the bacon back on its legs !! We did get moved to another room , shower worked, had a view of sorts ( the road) but was above the kitchens , where kitchen staff seemed to move stuff around , furniture ? till late into the night and start again early next morning, well it is a kitchen I suppose. On departure we asked to be compensated for the fiasco. The young guy on reception had to go and asked the manager, who did not have the gumption/ pride/sense of responsibility/ to actually come and speak to us, what he should do. The manager gave us a very small discount off the Saturday night price which was appallingly expensive anyway. Coniston is a very beautiful place and there are some great pubs , restaurants, places of interest, but the Waterhead Hotel is not one of them and should be avoided at all costs ( cause it will cost you for what you get)

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suitcasePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
302 reviews
5.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
762 reviews
5.4 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: $84 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing