We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location at a great price for the Lakes”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location at a great price for the Lakes”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at the Waterhead in March this year and were lucky enough to have fabulous sunshine - perfect walking weather. This meant we didn't spend too much time in our room, which was the one thing that let the hotel down as it was rather old-fashioned and a little threadbare. However, the bed was comfortable, and the view from our window beautiful. The welcome from the lady on reception was excellent - she was very friendly throughout our stay, and breakfast was pleasant, particularly with the views to enjoy from the large picture windows. The hotel is in a great location for setting straight out for a walk, whether just a gentle stroll across the footpath across the fields by Coniston to the lovely Bluebird Cafe, or a walk up to Tarn Hows (we're not hardy enough to walk up the Old Man)! We stayed at the Waterhead on a voucher deal, so for what we paid it was great value and my rating reflects this - but I would have been disappointed with the hotel due to the quality of our room if we had paid full price. However, I would be happy to stay here again on another deal, especially once the rooms have all been re-furbished!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London0Ripponden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    270
    101
    38
    17
See reviews for
89
428
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I have just come back from celebrating our one year anniversary here. It was our second visit to Waterhead and both times have been excellent. This time we stayed in room 6 which has a fabulous four poster bed and view of the lake. The staff were very friendly with nothing being too much trouble.

The food was very tasty indeed, however the portion sizes are on the small side (especially at breakfast - the Salmon and scrambled egg was delicious but definitely on the stingy side).

The view from the restaurant is stunning and is a beautiful place to sit and eat. The surrounding area is fantastic and really gives this hotel a retreat type of feeling.

Highly recommended for couples looking for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: If you are looking for an extra nice room - ask for room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricky1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just returned from 2 night break. Hotel as already mentioned is undergoing refurbishment. We were lucky to have a refurbished room, room 5. Room lovely, views brilliant, staff friendly, food good but nothing special.
The atmosphere in the hotel was peaceful and relaxing. Just what we wanted. Very short walk into Coniston but take a torch as it is a dark path.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDITH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Waterhead last weekend. This was our third visit - the location of the hotel is perfect with lawns that lead down to the lake.

They are in the process of some refurbishments in the entrance/dining room and it was a little cramped in the room that they are using for the evening dining. However, the food is delicious. We ate here on the first night - good value when compared to the pub prices in the village. Breakfast also very good and the staff are very friendly.

The bedrooms are definitely in need of a refurb but are comfortable with hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities.

We will definitely return as the location is ideal with an easy walk into the village and it's in an excellent location for many walks around the area. We love it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

hotel was big and comfortable, rooms huge and bathrooms complete with full bath and endless hot water - very nice! views over lake were good and very nice walk. pubs in town had great dinners. breakfast in hotel was very good!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller41188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a lovely spot on the edge of Coniston Water with lawns going down to the lake edge - must have been amazing in it's time - like quite a number of the hotels in this area it is clearly past it's best. They are doing the place up at the moment which is good to see but it would have been nice to have been told about this when booking.

Rooms could do with a face lift - go long on the sweepstake of when they are last decorated.

Food was fairly decent and staff were all really nice - hopefully the place can return to it's former glories once they refurbish the place.

Minor side note - booking is done through a central phone number, not the hotel itself - never like that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our daughter treated us to a two night break at this hotel. Initial impressions were OK and the staff were welcoming. We were given room 9 and immediately noticed a smell of drains in the room and there were quite a few flies buzzing around. My wife complained and the staff said they were fully booked that night and that we could change rooms the following day, We agreed to this reluctantly and in the meantime the very helpful lady on reception came and tried to get rid of the smell which temporarily worked. The next morning it was back but we were offered the courtyard suite at no extra charge, This proved to be lovely and we were more than happy with this arrangement.
On the plus side the food was outstanding! We ate there on both evenings and were impressed with the quality of all the courses. The service was excellent too!
Overall a reasonable break but there are obviously issues around the refurbishments to the hotel which are ongoing

Room Tip: Not room 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing