We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely area and hotel was good too”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

hotel was big and comfortable, rooms huge and bathrooms complete with full bath and endless hot water - very nice! views over lake were good and very nice walk. pubs in town had great dinners. breakfast in hotel was very good!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller41188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 688 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This hotel is located in a lovely spot on the edge of Coniston Water with lawns going down to the lake edge - must have been amazing in it's time - like quite a number of the hotels in this area it is clearly past it's best. They are doing the place up at the moment which is good to see but it would have been nice to have been told about this when booking.

Rooms could do with a face lift - go long on the sweepstake of when they are last decorated.

Food was fairly decent and staff were all really nice - hopefully the place can return to it's former glories once they refurbish the place.

Minor side note - booking is done through a central phone number, not the hotel itself - never like that.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our daughter treated us to a two night break at this hotel. Initial impressions were OK and the staff were welcoming. We were given room 9 and immediately noticed a smell of drains in the room and there were quite a few flies buzzing around. My wife complained and the staff said they were fully booked that night and that we could change rooms the following day, We agreed to this reluctantly and in the meantime the very helpful lady on reception came and tried to get rid of the smell which temporarily worked. The next morning it was back but we were offered the courtyard suite at no extra charge, This proved to be lovely and we were more than happy with this arrangement.
On the plus side the food was outstanding! We ate there on both evenings and were impressed with the quality of all the courses. The service was excellent too!
Overall a reasonable break but there are obviously issues around the refurbishments to the hotel which are ongoing

Room Tip: Not room 9!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just one night, hotel currently under changes, re frontage and dining room, wish we had known, as this did make our stay feeling cramped, room 5 lake view really big shower and well decorated. Clean and warm. We did eat, the set menu was limited but what we had was really well cooked. The staff were all really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Lake view room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjis22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had afternoon cream tea here on 17/10/13 bought for us as a wedding present..
We had to phone to arrange a time and date for the "cream tea" so were very disappointed that the scones were brought piping hot to our table in the bar/lounge with 2 small rolls of butter 4 catering packets of raspberry jam and a ramekin pot of cream. The scones were plain dusted with icing sugar very doughy in texture and the cream when spread on the hot scones just melted away. Surely as we were expected the staff could have cooked the scones sooner but perhaps they had been microwaved!!!! Not experience that we will return for. If we had had to pay afraid we would have complained. The afternoon tea consisted of 4 scones whereas 2 scones would have been sufficient with perhaps a small sandwich.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PaulineKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband booked a surprise weekend for my birthday. Lovely hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast and the most picturesque setting. The grounds are lovingly cared for and we had great weather too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had twenty relatives and friends staying at the hotel over the last weekend.We had a great time and were joined by another twenty for a special 70th Birthday Lunch on the Sunday.The service was excellent and the food was well prepared and presented well.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if you have a Lake View or a Mountain View, both are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalcolmW943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: $86 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing