We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We booked the hotel via booking.com and booked a junior suite. We arrived a couple of hours earlier than the 3pm check in and were welcomed and shown to the Courtyard suite. We unpacked and relaxed after our journey. The room was ground floor and right next to the road. There was much traffic that afternoon and we began to worry how noisy it would be during the night. That evening we walked into Coniston after asking at reception about the road in the night and was told that they didnt think it was too noisy and that the hotel was fully booked!
The Hotel has wonderful grounds, is within easy walking distance to Coniston and its numerous pubs and eating places. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast is served in a light and airy room and is very tasty and sets you up for the day.
The only down side was THAT room. It is ridiculous, in my opinion, to put such a room on the ground floor and it did spoil our visit. Outside, only around 6ft from where you are sleeping, is a bus stop, while we were there two delivery lorries pulled up right outside the lounge window to make deliveries to the bar and kitchen and then at 06:30 on Thursday morning the bin men came! Not what you would expect for what was one , if not the, most expensive room in the hotel. Visit the hotel, you will enjoy it but do not book the Courtyard Suite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    258
    92
    35
    14
See reviews for
84
403
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

An excellent place for total peace & quiet. So relaxing. Staff were friendly, we had a good laugh with them. Comfy bedroom, (room 2), but would avoid rooms 5 & 6 as they are at the top of the stairs. Breakfast was fab, such a good choice. Good advise was given as to what was good places to visit. A fairly level walk into Coniston village, friendly people. Good selection of watering holes & gift shops, All in all a good place for total chillaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, but be prepared to pay a supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahgemini59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

A busy bank holiday weekend, no excuse for the poor service & rude staff.
Room not ready at 2pm (we were early) said it would be ready by 4pm. went for a walk, back at 4pm still not ready, expected to hang around waiting.
Receptionist was rude & asked was I sure it was the Waterhead I had booked into, without even checking my reservation.
Room clean enough, blinds hanging down though.
Busy breakfast room & sat for 20 minutes before I had to ask a member of staff for some tea!
Breakfast nice when it did eventually arrive (after getting the order mixed up)
Won't be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ysbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Our recent visit to the Waterhead Hotel was a superb experience. Upon arrival we were immediately made to feel welcome and like valued guests. We arrived just after the end of lunch service in the bar but the Chef was kind enough to still make us some bar meals that were absolutely delicious. The hotel itself is a smart and inviting place. The room was clean, bright and comfortable and the beds offered a great nights sleep. The bar is a relaxing place with pleasant view of the grounds and lake and the restaurant has an excellent scenic view of the Old Man of Coniston. Nothing was any trouble for the staff and manager. After our planned evening meal in a nearby village did not go to plan, we contacted the Hotel to ask if a table was available for an evening meal. The hotel duly obliged and we had a table waiting for us when we arrived. The food and service was excellent and the hotel rescued our weekend after the weather and planned meal at another restaurant let us down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Previous reviews about the room décor had us slightly nervous but we were delighted upon arrival to find we had one of the two rooms just refurbished (literally that week). The room was light, contemporary and absolutely perfect and is an insight into how all of the rooms will be brought up to date in the coming months. The view was ideal and the grounds beautifully kept with a lovely spot by the lake shore jetty to sit with "Graham's View" from the dedicated bench. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. From initial contact through minor booking queries and from arrival to departure the service was excellent and friendly. A limited bar menu was easily rectified by choosing the steak and haddock and having half of each - each! Dubbed 'Surf & Turf' by Sarah :-) Dog friendly and an ideal spot between the lake and village, we had a fantastic stay (torrential rain didn't even stop us wanting to stay another night) and look forward to returning. Adrienne and Michael (Spennymoor, Durham).

Room Tip: Pay the extra supplement for a lake view, rooms 5 and 6 currently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I've just returned from a three night break here and could not be happier with my choice of hotel. The Waterhead is a lovely place and the setting is perfect with gardens leading down to the lake. It was very tranquil and has a very homely comfortable feel. I was travelling alone and was a little apprehensive but the warm welcome on arrival made it feel like home from home. Previous reviews I've read mention tired decor, Yes there are areas that may benefit from updating but nothing that would stop me from booking here again. For me it was all about the ambience, staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and it was clear that they are a very happy cooperative and close team. On the third morning a friend arrived early whilst I was having breakfast, he was also warmly welcomed, served tea and toast and made to feel at home. Food at the Waterhead was delicious. There was ample choice and I sampled three lovely breakfasts, good quality sausage and bacon with beautifully cooked poached eggs. Ate just once in the evening, a good meal of goats cheese and red onion tart, potatoes and mixed salad followed by tart tatin. This was served in the main dining room which has wonderful views of the fells. I also sampled one cream tea served in the lounge bar after a good cycle ride. Three warm scones, jam and cream and a large pot of good tea. This was charged at £6.95 which I thought was excellent value. I've previously had cream tea at the Midland in Morecambe and the Hilton in Manchester, this was equally as good as either place. Earlier this year I went to Whistler/Vancouver/Vancouver Island and had a fabulous holiday. Waterhead was just supposed to be a short local trip to recharge my battery, it turned out to be every bit as enjoyable as Canada and I will definitely be going back to the Waterhead. Thank you Waterhead team you are doing a great job.

Room Tip: I had room 9 which is on the road side of the hotel. However I slept soundly as double glazing cuts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisCurwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Did not stay but went for afternoon tea and was absolutely disgusted with what we received. At £12 a head for tea, cakes and sandwiches you would expect quality. What we got was 2 fingers of basic sandwiches, 2 of the smallest and most disgusting cakes each and scones that were so hard and small they couldn't even be cut in half. Do not eat here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moglie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing