We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing is too much trouble”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We hosted a 3 day reunion for 60 friends from all around the world at The Waterhead Hotel in Coniston. We filled the hotel and the guest house next door.


Our guests had nothing but praise for the welcome and the service that they received from each and every member of staff.


As organisers of the reunion, we found the manager Laura an absolute delight to work with and it was obvious that the can-do approach of the whole team is inspired by her leadership and by her example.


The location is stunning, the hotel is comfortable but informal, the food (even for our numbers) was great, the staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.


We couldn't imagine a better place for any get-together, be it reunion, conference or wedding, or simply for a relaxing break in a beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: The hotel has rooms with wonderful lake views and mountain views - take your pick! The 'bridal r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    271
    101
    38
    19
See reviews for
89
431
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Porth Newquay
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Waterhead Hotel in January, it looked inviting,as the rain became a torrent; we were warmly greeted, and taken to our ground floor bedroom; what a shame it was so dowdy; however the beds were comfortable and the en-suite was fine. breakfast the following morning was good and plentiful the waiter was cheerful and chatty.
We went out, but the weather was so poor, we came back around 3pm to find our room had not been serviced; we did not complain, the skeleton staff were so nice, what was an unmade bed to grumble about.
This short break was a present and also an afternoon tea on the last day, more on that in another review.
Finally I would still recommend the hotel as the pros outweigh the cons, the staff are wonderful and suggest that head office gives them a bonus, they are literally holding the place together for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PorthNewquayHotpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just wanted to write to let people know about my stay in this hotel. My parents bought me and my girlfriend a buyagift experience and we chose to stay here in the Lake District. We thoroughly enjoyed the 2 days we stayed here. the hotel is clean, quiet and set right at the foot of the "old man of coniston" right next to the jetty for the coniston launch and a short walk into coniston village and surrounding area. The cooked breakfast was great and i must say that the cumberland sausage was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful, we had no issues throughout our stay and would say to anyone who may be wary of hotels on buyagift or equivalent websites then don't worry it isn't a bad thing. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Only one slight issue was the wif-fi didn't work on day one but was fine thereafter. And anyway....if you're in somewhere so nice....what do you need wifi for?! leave your work at home and enjoy :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Myself and 5 friends came up to Coniston to spend a day mountain biking in Grizedale forest,we needed a place to stay just for 1 night (13 April 2013)
Most places in Coniston require a minimum 2 night stay, but the Waterhead were able to accomodate us for the one night.
The building and grounds were quite impressive, and we thought it was well worth paying a little extra, as it certainly felt a bit more special than the usual pub/B+B accomodation that we usually choose for this type of thing.
The hotel staff were all very friendly, and couldn't do enough for us, even letting us keep our bikes in the cellar overnight.
Everywhere was nice and clean and the breakfast was excellent.
It was raining heavily for our mooch down to Coniston to sample a few beers and a meal, so we enquired about a mini bus at reception - we were doubtful that we would be able to get one in this area, however the Hotel managers husband Alan is the local taxi driver and he dropped us in town and picked us up several beers later for a very reasonable cost and in a really nice vehicle.
On our return to the hotel they were good enough to serve us a few "nightcaps" to finish our day off!
Don't listen to the moaner reviews on here, i think some people expect The Dorchester - it isn't, but they don't charge Dorchester type prices either!
Many thanks to all the staff at the Waterhead, we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to use this excellent hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 10 above the kitchen, and the hotel pre - warned us that this room could possibly be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this hotel with a buyagift.com voucher. It's the only hotel in the lake district on their list, but don't let that put you off. The hotel is in an excellent location in a picturesque setting. It is within 5 minutes walk of the village of Coniston and right next to the lake. It has a relaxed atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the top of the building overlooking the lake. It had everything we needed, with tea/coffee. It was cleaned everyday. Breakfast in the Mountain View dining room overlooking The Old Man of Coniston was a mix of buffet and a choice of a cooked breakfast. Evening meals are available, but we chose not to dine. They also have a bar. The hotel Is a great base to explore the Lake District. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly go back if visiting the Lake District again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angiehill66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked late for two nights, but were told that we would have to change rooms due to the hotel being full. On arrival the very helpful staff member told us they had managed to keep us in the one room for the full stay.
Our room was spacious and recently decorated. Spotlessly clean, with views of The Old Man. Breakfasts were substantial and served by friendly staff. Best of all was the location. We were close to the lake but also able to walk to Coniston itself.
I accidentally left a cardigan in the hotel, which staff have quickly arranged to have sent to me.
We really enjoyed the walks and our stay at The Waterhead, and will be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms overlooking the lake are most desirable, but the mountain views are good too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed from Sun to Tues in the week before Easter when there was very deep snow around Coniston . We enjoyed crunching down to the lakeside within the grounds of the hotel and a footpath leads from the hotel into the town centre, about 10 mins walk away. The surroundings were so very beautiful covered in snow but I am sure they will be just as lovely at other times of the year.
We welcomed the warmth and friendliness of the staff. I have to have a gluten and dairy free diet and I was very grateful that the chef was willing and able to cater for me. I would recommend that you let them know in advance of your stay if you have special requirements. On the evenings
we enjoyed sitting in the very comfortable bar area overlooking the gardens and my husband was delighted to have internet access.
Our room was on the top floor and looked out towards the Lake where we could see the Gondola in steam. I struggle to find anything to critisise but if I was nitpicking, I would recommend that you take your own hairdrier as theirs is not very good. Also the shower cubicle was very small so I was pleased that we have been slimming recently !!
All in all it was a wonderful short break and I would be delighted to recommend.

Room Tip: We loved the view from room 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,687 reviews
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing