We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterhead Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$220
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
253
289
110
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
289
110
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotellake viewbar loungefirst floorold manlovely groundshotel is situatedshort walkbeautiful locationon arrivalevening mealconiston waterpublic areasconiston villagelake districttwo night stayfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 718 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a 2 day break earlier this month - very fortunate with weather - Very comfortable warm rooms - Staff are most welcoming and helpful - a very good selection of continental breakfast so never tried the full Cumbrian - though probably will when we return. Lovely views from room / hotel.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrh_senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a snowy weekend in March 2013.
It was a very enjoyable stay. Bar is a bit more expensive than what I am used too but that was ok.
Glass of Wine and a single vodka and diet coke and expect to pay about £10.50. Price on a par with a up-market Manchester city center bar.
Food is very good. The resturant is a bit formal so I would prefer to eat in the bar lounge but everyone to their own.

I would recommend the hotel. Short walk to the village which is very pleasent.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor. They have a lift but it stops on the first floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattBNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed last week for 3 nights, had a nice room overlooking the Old Man of Coniston. First morning woke up to a picturesque sunny view, Friday morning woke up to deep snow!!
Hotel has loads of character, all the staff are attentive and pleasant, nothing seemed to be a problem.
We ate twice in the hotel restaurant, the menu was really excellent, and varied each night. Breakfast was exceptional, and enjoyed looking out on the beautiful views from the restaurant.
On leaving, the hotel staff were working hard to clear the car park, and helped us to get the car out, as more snow had fallen, they advised best route out from the village, as some of the roads are rather narrow for quite a while before getting back onto main roads.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mam7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is very rare today that a hotel goes way beyond your expectations. Staying at this hotel did.
From the moment we checked in, the staff really care about their guests. The warmth of the friendliness from all the staff was outstanding and was maintained throughout our stay.
We had a 2 night break through travelzoo and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our evening meals were excellent and presentation superb. For breakfast you had a good choice and it was freshly cooked. Staff were courteous and efficient.
Our room on the second floor was newly refurbished and was immaculate.
Views from the hotel are lovely and it is only a short stroll to the lake.
This hotel has very high standards and we would highly recommend that you pay them a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pedroWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Waterhead is located to maximise all that is good in this part of the Lakes. My wife and I enjoyed our two night stay and what particularly impressed us was, after a night of heavy snow, the concerns of the staff for departing guests and our welfare. The Receptionist was at pains to reassure one single guest,who needed to travel by bus, that accommodation would be found if needed, regardless of the number of in-coming guests.
The hotel is not exciting, but is a nice traditional establishment, that offers a good base in the South-West Lakes. The food is good and service is quite good. The Bar has good views, although the lake is not as visible as you would possibly expect, as the hotel is set back from it. We stayed in one of the two suites and ours was fine, we could hear staff in the kitchen area and noted we could see into the staff caravan! The other thing is that to access the suites you need to take a few steps outdoors, no problem for us, even in the snow!
Taking everything into account, we will return, but unfortunately it is fair to say we didn't fall in love with the Hotel, as we have elsewhere in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Chose a room that looks towards the Old Man of Coniston...a stunning sight when snow covered.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews