We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay with husband and 4 month old baby. Staff were lovely, flexible, approachable and helpful. The hotel was just outside a little village a 15 min drive from windermere and close to ambleside and grizedale forest. Breakfast and dinner were lovely and the hotel is right on the lake side with a lovely quiet private jetty and our room looked out onto the snow covered mountains. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Delightful stay- we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    270
    101
    38
    17
See reviews for
89
428
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for 2 nights on a kgb deal. Plus points - staff very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast - very good, well cooked, plenty of it. Location on the edge of the lake which I assume would be lovely in summer. Evening meals tasty. Minus points - room a little dated but OK for the time we were there. Bathroom looked like it had been updated recently but shower very small. Heating didn't work but we were given a fan heater for the room which was adequate. Parts of the main building were cold such as stairways but you don't spend time in those areas anyway so not a problem and the bar area was lovely and warm. Dining room at breakfast time was quite cold as well especialy if you sat near the windows for the view
We ate in the bar both nights as the weather was too bad to walk inot the village and the food and service was fine.
For the price we thought it was a very good deal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in a secluded tranquil amazing setting, 5 minute walk from the boating centre to hire out . Our room had a mountain view and was cosie, the staff were all friendly and helpful, always smiling and happy , this was the best holiday by far and we will definitely be going back to coniston and staying at the waterhead hotel .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liverpooljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We received a Groupon style voucher for Christmas to stay at the Waterhead in Coniston - not to be confused with the Waterhead at Ambleside which we nearly turned up at!
As we were expecting to stay at the Waterhead in Ambleside, I was a little disappointed, but wanted to make the most of our weekend regardless. I requested a large or family room as we were travelling with our dog who sleeps in a large crate and didnt want to be cramped up with a snoring pooch for two nights, we were allocated a family room, with bunk beds - which was a surprise at first for a romantic couples holiday, but I did ask for a large room and that is what we got! Although rooms do look modern-ish, the hotel is definately tired, the carpets need changing, the central heating, which we were glad of in the snow, was very loud and ticked and hissed at night, I slept with earplugs. The room was overlooking a fire escape stairwell and I think the kitchens, so not a great view, but I supposed people pay extra for that, although young boys were having a kick about against the walls in the small courtyard below our room both evenings, Im not sure if they were staff on a break - I doubt they were guests as it was close to the kitchen/staff areas. The grounds are nice, lots of open space for our dog to play in the snow and only a few minutes walk to the Famous 'Bluebird' Lake Coniston. As we like to visit Ambleside, Grasmere and Windermere when in the Lakes, Coniston was a little drive out for us from these places, around 25 minutes drive, but for £99.00 B&B for two nights we thought that the value for money was excellent as hotels in the areas I mentioned will have been double that at least! The breakfast was excellent, buffet style cereals, juices, fruits and then you ordered your hot breakfast, toast, tea/coffee from the waiter/ess who promtly brought out a lovely hot, full english breakfast. I was a little disappointed on check out when they charged me £10 per night for my dog, which was not mentioned anywhere that I could see, nor on booking the hotel, I understand that some hotels do this, but they didnt accommodate the fact that we had a dog all weekend, he wasnt allowed in any public areas (the restaurant I agree with but the bar?) there was no bowls, biscuits nothing provided at all - I dont expect them to feed my dog, but some hotels that do charge at least offer a waterbowl and a treat! We were also on the 1st floor which meant having to get dressed and walk through the hotel and out in to the grounds to let him out throughout our stay which was annoying after a while - so not really a doggy friendly hotel. Overall I wouldnt stay again, I thought the special offer was excellent value for the Lake District but definately wouldnt pay full price to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Review of the Waterhead Hotel Coniston (3 Star)
Visited the hotel via a buy a gift token given as a Christmas present.
Selected the hotel due to its proximity to the lake and numerous walks.
Contacted the hotel by phone, receptionist friendly, she explained that the token was for bed and continental breakfast. She said that I could pre book a 3 course evening meal and get a £5 discount (£19.95), I did not take her up on the offer.
The double room that I was given was a good size and had a limited view of the lake (at the bottom of a large garden). The room was clean although not very modern.
Breakfast was of limited choice but you could upgrade to Full English for £5 p/p. The breakfast was nice, served very quickly (only one other couple in the restaurant).
The bar in the hotel served a limited bar menu, we did not use the bar deciding to walk into the village of Coniston (10 mins) to both eat and drink.
Everywhere very quiet at this time of year, had 1 meal at the Black Bull and 1 at the Yewdale Hotel, both ok.
Had intended to walk up Old Man of Coniston but snow and low cloud made us look for other lower walks. We picked up a pack of 5 walks from the tourist Information (£2.25), well worth the money.
Went to Bluebird Cafe for lunch, right on the side of the lake, the cafe is clean, good menu and worth a visit
Negative points
No people/atmosphere both in hotel or village (expected this fortime of year), only 4 couples in the hotel.
Looked on Internet and could have booked the hotel cheaper than the gift token with full English b/fast included.
Shower in hotel had no pressure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank any-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed on a return offer 2 night break this weekend after having stayed for one night last October.

We love the location - right by the lakeside, the fact that the hotel isn't too formal and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel which we found to be very a good choice, tasty and more than ample - also good value. There are excellent choices at breakfast and as others have said the view from the dining room is gorgeous - especially this weekend in the snow.

Both the rooms we stayed in, this time and last, could do with a bit of a refurb or update though are very clean and comfortable. The public areas, the lounge, bar area etc are all very cosy and relaxed. All in all a great stay.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

good location, slightly away from the centre but not too far.
comfortable room and very friendly staff.
lovely breakfast selection.
overall pleasant stay and would like to return to coniston and the waterhead hotel again as a leisure visit with my wife rather than a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanothompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
6.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing