We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel is a very nice a peaceful setting, if you need to be near the lake, I don't think you could be any closer !! a short walk down the grounds and you are there ! As for the Hotel the accomodation was excellent, the room was clean and neat, bathroom modern and clean.
The setting and place for the Hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to get away from it all and sit back and relax and chill out.
Theres even a ghost thrown in just for good measure !!! but don't take my word for it ask for room 2 and find out yourself .........

Great stay and would love to go again soon !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    258
    92
    35
    14
See reviews for
84
403
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Under Lyme uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Lovely period hotel set against the stunning mountain back drop. Ideally located for the delightful village of Coniston. Friendly welcoming staff. Comfortable pleasant room and bed. Lovely choice at breakfast looking out at the stunning scenery. Loved it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have just returned from a very "snowy" weekend at the Waterhead Hotel in Coniston and I have to say despite being involved in a "weather induced" car crash on the way we yet again had an enjoyable comfortable stay. This is the second year in a row we have chosen the Waterhead using a Buy a Gift.com voucher and I was not disappointed. The hotel is very clean and comfortable, the staff were welcoming and friendly and the breakfast as before was outstanding! I cannot believe some of the bad reviews I have read but everyone is different I suppose. I would urge people to go to this hotel if they are looking for a base for exploring the Lakes. The deal with Buy a Gift is amazing value - look out for just before Christmas as they usually do up to 25% off the already discounted price. We ended up paying £120 for two nights bed and full english breakfast. If you go Sun-Thurs it is slightly cheaper as they charge a £10 per person per night supplement for Fri and Sat - which is the same with most of these deals. I have to say that the staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly to us and we were especially brightened on Sunday morning to see that one of the staff and his girlfriend had built a fab snowman looking in to the breakfast room!!!! It may be quite expensive to stay without any special deals but even at full price I think you wouldn't be disappointed. They have over the last couple of years done some of the bathrooms up and I would think the review saying the shower they had was a dribble is no longer an issue. I can't really say anything negative about this hotel - except the butter was always hard to spread as it had been refridgerated well!!! If that's their only criticism that's not bad going. The pubs / bars in the village of Coniston were very expensive in the main for food and drink but my partner and I went to the Coniston Sports and Social Club a couple of times where the atmosphere was warm and friendly and we drank very reasonably priced drinks whilst watching the kids sledging down the hill behind!!!! All in all I would highly recomend both the Waterhead and Coniston as a location for a terrific relaxing break with the most breathtaking views.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room no 7 this time and the bathroom was newly done, white, bright and large with both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahkeen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I don't usually take the time to write a review, but on this occasion I will as we had such a lovely time at the Waterhead. We had a two night stay there 1st and 2nd Feb 2012, it was a buy a gift .com present. The location of the hotel is stunning, right on Coniston Lake, the landscaped gardens lead down to it. The 'Old Man' is seen from the front of the hotel and its a wonderful view. We had dinner there on the first night which was very good. Breakfasts were equally good with lots of choice, especially for me as I don't like full English, there was plenty of fresh fruit, yogurts and croissants . The staff were friendly ,especially our waiter on the first evening who was a young lad from Scotland. The room was clean and tastefully decorated as was the rest of the hotel. We were also allowed to have our dog with us which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel.
We would definitely recommend the Waterhead and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshiremaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Ive just come back from a weekend at this hotel.The staff are very friendly and nothing was too much trouble,we even had the choice of three rooms to choose from when we checked in .The hotel grounds run down to the shores of coniston with mountain views to the left,the restaurant has panoramic views of the old man of coniston.The room was spacious and clean.A walk into the village takes around ten minutes where there are four lovely pubs to choose from.definitely would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed in room 15 which only had a shower (no bath). This electric shower was like a very very light spray which took over 30 mins to was my hair. A lady needs to wash and I found this totally unacceptable. The room was dated and the carpet was dirty. The staff were really nice but this spoilt my weekend I won't return or recommend to anyone. A very dissatisifed customer

Room Tip: The views from the hotel were great from all angles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

I returned yesterday after a 3 day break at the Waterhead Hotel for New Year. We had a fantastic stay. Hotel was very nice and clean and was very good value for money.

On arrival we were greeted by a very nice lady who advised that our room wasn't quite ready and they would have it done asap if we wanted to get a drink in the bar. We were on 2nd floor (room 20) which was very spacious and a very large bathroom.

Breakfast was served between 8am and 9.30am (which I did feel was a little early) but at least it made us make the most of the day. The restaurant where food is served is lovely and has fantastic views of Coniston Old Man.

It is only a short walk to the centre (i would say 5 minutes, not the 2 it said on the website i booked on) but again this was no problem. There is a path (unlit) to the centre. I would recommend a torch if you have one although not essential.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and will be recommending to people and returning ourselves

Many thanks for all the staff who were very nice and friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 20 which was in the middle of the hotel looking out to Conision Old Man - very nice. Pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
4.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
5.3 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Property: Waterhead Hotel
Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing