We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice view......”
Review of Waterhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterhead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel room we had was very dated and tired with chipped mismatched furniture and a very mustry smell. The staff seem willing, but made basic mistakes that detracted from the overall enjoyment of the stay - for example, no butter with toast, no plates, knives or napkins with a cheese platter, poached eggs that had been cooked for so long they were boiled eggs. Slow service in the bar, the restaurant was busyish so the staff were occupied over there. The restaurant has lovely views, but the food was bland and very over cooked - the salmon had turned grey! Ordered newspaper did not arrive, empty tissue box not replaced. I could go on, but I think you get the picture. All it would take to turn this mediocre hotel into a gem is a bit of care and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 688 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night (supposed to be two) over the bank holiday.

The hotel is in a fabulous location, on the lake about a 10minte walk into Coniston where there are a few pubs, restaurants and a couple of shops. The Hotel itself could be amazaing as the location is very pictureresque, however the corridors and rooms need urgently updating.

Our room was very 70's with pine furniture, peeling, stained wallpaper and a blue, seen better days carpet. The bathroom was adequate, however the shower is a trickle and any woman would not be able to wash their hair as it is not powerful enough.( I could barely wash the soap off).

The dining room howeve,r is very pleasant and the grounds to the hotel are also very nice. The fine weather did enhance the hotel. The breakfast was also very good with a choice of cereal and also a cooked breakfast to your liking, The breakfast does however end at 9.30, which we felt was early for a weekend/bank holiday.

Overall I can see why this hotel is only a 3*, however it would not take much to make it an outstanding hotel. A redecor of the rooms and corridors and changing the bedroom furniture would instantly make this hotel very reccomendable and worth another visit.

(We had booked two nights but as we had to get up early on the Tuesday, we did not stay the Monday night. Breakfast does not start until 8, so we would have missed that and we felt the room was not that luxurious to merit staying.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenster212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have just returned from 3 nights stay, this being our 3rd stay over 2 years. In terms of value this hotel is unbeatable. It is in the most pitcuresque extensive gardens leading directly to Lake Conniston. The management and staff try so very hard to please. We had a lake view room recently refurbished to a high standard. The breakfasts are excellent and served in a beautifully presented dining room with fresh flowers and panaoramic views of 'The Old Man of Conniston'. We had dinner and this also was very high standard. The hotel is a very pleasant 10 minute walk to the village which is well served for local pubs but not restaurants. The Waterhead hotel we believe is Conniston's only fine dining establishment We are frequent, very well seasoned travellers and believe that in terms of value for money this hotel is unbeatable- it delivers the whole package. Thank you to Lottie, Laura and Andy- keep doing what you do so very well.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank calderfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Have just spent a two night break at this hotel over Easter and had a very dissappointing experience. The food in the restaurant on the Sunday evening did not even meet a good pub standard, in fact it was really very poor and we didn't even feel that we could finish either the salmon or the pork that we had ordered. Waiting staff said the right things but tone of voice and attitude didn't match the words. Suffice to say we didn't dine here the second evening and the fact that all tables were full for breakfast and only five were taken in the evening for dinner probably tells its own tale.A grim dining experience all told.

We were told on our second morning that they had run out of sausages for breakfast with no apology or explanation of how such a ridiculous situation could possibly occur when they knew how many people were booked in and could surely have estimated how many sausages were needed to provide everyone with a cooked breakfast.On deciding therefore to have smoked haddock we were totally shocked to be presented with a piece each that was one inch wide and two inches long, and a poached egg just slightly bigger than a quails. How much would we have been given of a kipper one wonders - just a tail? We queried with our waitress if this was a normal sized portion to which she replied "the haddock is always small"

Our room was above the kitchen with all the resulting noise and extractor fan smells coming in through the window. When we shut the window the room was stiflingly hot.

We constructively raised our issues with the hotel management before our departure and it is to be hoped that they take them on board. No offer of compensation was made to us although apologies were given. Not really good enough for a visit that had been planned as a gift from some well meaning friends as a Christmas and Birthday present combined. Unlike some gifts unfortunately this wasn't one we could take back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiftysoonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Warning - make sure you have booked the correct hotel, there is another of the same name at Ambleside, Lake Windemere, which comes up first if you do a Google search. If you have the right hotel you are in for a treat. Just outside the Village it is based at the edge of Coniston Waters with all its history. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. The room we had was overlooking the Waters and was clean and comfortable - the shower could have been a little more powerful but was adequate. Ideally placed for walking and touring around this famous area - Beatrix Potter, John Ruskin and Donald Campbell history area. Choice of pubs in the village for good food if you don't want to pay the hotel prices (the food is lovely but not if you have a big appetite)..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay17Bron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

In the middle of nowhere, this hotel is a bit of a dump in my opinion. Very old fashioned, with old fashioned decor, old creaky floorboards, felt like staying in someone's house, you hear everything. Bathroom was a total waste of space, had no bath just a small paltry shower. Disgusting mould growing on window and mould in bedroom ceiling. The most uncomfiest bed I've ever slept in. Think I hated this so much because we booked this by mistake, thought we were staying in the gorgeous Waterside Hotel in AMBLESIDE, but that's about 5 miles away, a very easy mistake to make...so readers be warned.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tadmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Classichotels, Guest Relations Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments Tadmad. The Hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from the village of Coniston against the dramatic backdrop of the "Old Man of Coniston". Our guest lounge, bar area and most of the bedrooms & bathrooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard of décor, fitting to the style of hotel that Waterhead is. The grounds of the property have frontage onto Coniston Water providing pleasant walks. It is a surprise to read that one of our valued customers feels the hotel seemed old fashioned. Our staff at Waterhead Hotel work very hard to ensure the comfort of our guests no matter what their age and we are rated the best hotel in Coniston on Trip advisor. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.


Regards
Classic Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We arrived on Friday 1st April and were greeted by the extremely friendly and helpful receptionist - Lottie. She told us everything we needed to know about meal times and facilities etc. Our room was spacious with an enormous bed! Very comfy. There was tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits in the room which were refreshed each day. Although our window was small as we were up on the second floor we still had a great view. The rooms were very clean and our bathroom was brand new and extremely large! The only criticism was the shower was a bit of a trickle at times and I prefer to have more of a power shower but this is an old building so can't complain really. The bath was a good size though and definitely needed after climbing / scrambling up Helvellyn!

The grounds of the hotel were stunning with a view of the old man of Coniston and a very short walk to the bottom of the garden (gorgous and well kept gardens - plenty of seats/benches around) revealed the lake and a launch where you could catch the ferry to Windermere itself.

Breakfast was superb, just what you need to set yourself up for the day. The breakfast room was painted white and very airy with huge windows looking out over towards Coniston - breathtaking views. We were immediately asked if we would like tea or coffee and brown/white or mixed toast which was fetched whilst we were told to help ourselves to cereals, juices and fruit, there were also fresh crossaints and little pots of jam. When the drinks arrived we were asked what we would like from the fresh cooked menu selection which included hot porridge, full english (2 thick slices of delicious bacon, meaty tasty sausage, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding and a choice of fried / poached or scrambled egg). Or you could choose a selection of hot items. There was also things like beans on toast, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on offer! You could pretty much have anything you wanted cooked however you wanted!

Although we did not dine in the hotel at night the menu sounded good and going on the quality of the breakfast I would imagine it was! The starters were things like scallops or pan fried calves liver with pancetta etc. I think it was £15.95 for one course, £20.95 for two and £25.95 for three. One of the desserts I noticed on Saturday consisted of 3 chocolate based desserts in one and sounded fantastic but my partner wanted to try one of the pubs in the village.

The hotel is situated just outside of Coniston so we walked (about 10 minutes) to the nearest pub (tip - if going out at night take a torch!!!!! No light pollution takes a bit of getting used to!!!!). The hotel bar was reasonably priced though and they have some beers on offer i.e. Carling £1.65 a pint on Saturday when we were there!

Local pubs were good although very pricy - drink and food (you're a bit stuck really so I suppose they can charge what they like!). The first one we tried was the Black Bull and this was really hefty on the prices. My partner had a pint of lager and I had a half a bitter and it came to £5.80!!!!! Harry's Bar across the road from the Black Bull did pizza's and pasta which looked very good and had special drinks offers i.e. Gin and Elderflower £2.80 I think and the staff were very friendly. We drove to Keswick on the first night and ended up in an Indian restaurant that offered 5 course for £9.99. It was the busiest restaurant in Keswick and the food was very good!!!! Saturday night we walked in to the village and went to (I think!) the Queens Head Hotel (bang opposite the Black Bull anyway!) for dinner. I had a steak and kidney pie which came with chips and fresh veg and was absolutely superb (£10.95) and my partner had home made lasagna (he ummed and arrghed about ordering chips with it but was glad he didn't as it was extremely filling and meaty and he pinched half of mine as there was more than enough!).

All in all I would definitely recomend the Waterhead hotel for it's beauty, superb customer service and excellent breakfast!

We decided to climb Helvellyn (the hard route!!!! starting from Glenridding) on Saturday morning and would warn anyone that you will probably end up forking out £7 for parking if you can't get free parking on the road! But it was well worth it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahkeen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.5 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#1 of 6 in Coniston
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
5.5 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhead Hotel

Address: Hawkshead Old Road | Tarn Hows Road, Coniston LA21 8AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range: $85 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhead Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing