We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow wow wow”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HoptonRed...
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled to the Lake District for the very first time in June and after a long journey we were delighted when we arrived at this lovely cottage..Having been renovated only 2 years ago everything was in pristine condition with quality furnishings it was a wow when walking through the door. We loved the location quite remote but only 2 miles down a single track to the small village of Torver there is nothing much in Torver apart from 2 pubs and a small deli, further down the road is Coniston with the lake where you can take a boat trip around the lake. Torver itself is quite central with Ambleside, Grasmere, Windermere etc not a long drive away.

The cottage itself is set among acres of fell land and you have sheep as your neighbours. It's nice to walk around but keep dogs on a lead as we nearly lost ours as he went off to chase the sheep. There is no need to take cleaning stuff as it was all provided as well as dressing gowns and a hairdryer all stuff that I had taken. The hot tub at the cottage was a real bonus and lovely for a soak in the evening after a long day walking. There is also a whirlpool bath and a rainfall shower. There is no phone signal or wifi but even though I like to be connected it wasn't a huge problem phone signals were poor all over the lakes on O2 to be honest.

We loved the lakes and already booked for next year in the same area but a bigger cottage as we are going with family next year.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brackenbe...
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“5 Star Accommodation”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Yew Tree cottage for 7 days commencing 27 March to celebrate my early retirement. What a fantastic cottage. Attention to detail is "first class" and the photographs do not emphasise how large the cottage is. The location is perfect, nice and quiet with terrific views over the countryside. It was lambing season and each morning it was lovely to see sheep with newly born babies in nearby fields. The furnishings are superb and very comfortable. Extras like the 3D TV and spa bath were very much appreciated, as was the lovely, relaxing hot tub. I thoroughly recommend this accommodation.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floradix
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend luxury getaway”
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Myself and my partner have just spent 3 nights here to celebrate his 30th birthday and I honestly wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage location is fantastic. Out of the way enough to feel secluded and cosy but not too far from the village of Coniston if supplies are needed.
The cottage itself was so luxurious and beautifully furnished. I particularly loved the log fire, , four poster bed and fantastic enquire bathroom with whirlpool bath.

We had a wonderful stay and feel totally refreshed. I will definitely be booking again and this time for a longer stay!

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review of Yew Tree Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and agree that three nights isn't enough to enjoy everything we have to offer! We would be happy to welcome you back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penguin19...
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic. Spent a fortnight wrapped in luxury on our honeymoon. Cottage is lovely and the hot tub is fab.
A secluded retreat amongst the hills but close enough to civilisation if needed. No wifi or mobile reception at the cottage which was a plus as hubby is self employed and gets so many calls day and night - at bottom of 2 mile lane reception is good.though to make calls out if needed. Large fridge freezer so take groceries in with you if you plan to self cater. We managed to fill the freezer with everything we took and munched our way through it only had to buy bread and milk locally. Supermarkets are scarce so be sure to buy before getting to the area. We didn't want to leave the cottage. A lovely retreat for twwo.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: oooo - hot tub
Liked least: nothing - all fab
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Loretta A
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic high quality cottage in great surroundings”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I chose this cottage because we wanted peace and quiet - and that is what we got ! What we weren't prepared for was the quality and space in what seemed on booking to be a small venue. With high ceilings and great choice in decor, the place was a real pleasure to stay in and we didn't want to leave. Great for couples ! We took our dog and went on loads of walks and spent a lot of time chilling in the hot tub ;) ... So good for the soul. I have recommended this place to many of my friends. Thanks !

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SneaksyWh...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A touch of luxury in beautiful, tranquil surroundings”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautifully appointed, luxury cottage set off-the-beaten-track in the rugged Cumbrian landscape.

The accommodation itself is spacious and of excellent quality; we particularly enjoyed the cosy underfloor heating, wood burner, luxury bathroom, modern kitchen and, of course, the amazing private hot tub. Although we'd seen pictures before we arrived, we were still surprised at how lovely it was and at the attention to detail.

The owners could not have done more to help us, especially when a national grid fault meant the whole area suffered a power cut! We were so impressed that we've already booked another stay, and we only returned home yesterday.

The private hot tub and luxury touches really set this cottage aside from others. Amazingly it is also dog-friendly, so could be the perfect base for a walking holiday with a canine companion. We cannot wait to return!

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private hot tub, quiet location, attention to detail and luxury touches
Liked least: No internet access to research things to do in the local area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing