We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A magical week”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs_S_and...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical week”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a simply wonderful time staying at beautiful Blea Brows cottage. It was comfortable and cosy, with everything we needed to give us a great base from which to explore the surrounding countryside. The private access to the lake was a real bonus, as we were able to relax in stunning surroundings without going too far afield when our legs were protesting about all the long, picturesque walks we took around the local area!
I would recommend this as a great holiday cottage and would like to thank you for a fantastic week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to mention, but being able to let ourselves in when we arrived made us feel at home straight away.
Liked least: Nope, can't answer this one; everything was brilliant!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
Thank you so much for that lovely review. It's always a pleasure when other people enjoy it as much as we do. We're delighted that you had such a good time. Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarjorieH...
High Peak
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to be back”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was lovely to be back at Blea Brows after a gap of over ten years. The cottage is now much improved with very comfortable beds. Although initially booked for just the two of us, different members of the family joined us at different times, all eager to sample Blea Brows again. We hope to visit again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
So lovely to have you back again to stay! Glad you enjoyed the improvements. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVELY RELAXING FEEL TO THE COTTAGE.”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here with three friends and two dogs, and it was ideal. The cottage is warm and comfortable and well equipped and we felt at home straightaway. The dogs absolutely loved running up and down the hill at the back of the cottage, and around the lake, which was beautiful. We only had one small gripe, the introductory notes said there would be some logs and kindling to start us off with the wood-burning stove, but there was none there so the very nice lady next door lent us some for our first evening. We would love to come back some time. Thanks Philip and Katie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's location. lovely woodland and lake frontage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Thanks for your great review! Sorry about the logs! We'd had them on order for ages, but they hadn't been delivered (when they said they would!) Glad our lovely neighbours were able to help! Regards, Phil and Kate!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Blissfully quite retreat!”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Tucked away amongst the trees and a stone’s throw away from a quiet area of Coniston Lake this property lived up to our expectations. The dogs loved it too!

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thanks David. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tanyagood...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful cottage”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was amazing for our local trip to Coniston. It has its own secluded lake area and all the equipment you need for an amazing stay in the lake district. Loved the property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private lake views
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2015
Thanks Tanya! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
All the best, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eileen J
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, woodburning stove, secluded location, bliss.”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We were lucky to have 3 cold, crisp but sunny days out of our 5. Walking from the door of our secluded woodland cottage up to Torver High Common and up to Old Man of Coniston for the fitter ones. Returning exhausted but exhilarated to relax in a hot bath (lashings of hot water). Cooking our evening meal in the very well equipped kitchen and relaxing with a tipple or two in front of our wood burning fire. What more could one ask following the madness of Christmas shopping.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2015
Thank you so much for that review. We're glad that you had such co-operative weather and you were able to get out and walk as much as you did. Also, that you were able to relax and enjoy staying in the cottage too! Many thanks. Please come again soon! Regards, Phil and Kate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmmcsparr...
1 review
“Cosy cottage within metres of Coniston shore!”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely homely and cosy accommodation. Perfect for getting out in our kayaks on Coniston from own private beach only 2 minutes walk from door down good track. Lovely walks from the door. Well equipped and great range of information, maps and local books to use. Properly dog friendly including enclosed garden and washable floors downstairs for muddy paws! Great for our family get together. Thanks so much. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're always delighted when people enjoy staying as much as we do ourselves! Yes, we've tried to make the place as 'practical' and wipe clean as possible. The Lake District has a lot of mud in it, which dogs do their best to transfer into the house! I know that ours have! Anyway, do come again. Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing