We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service”

The Green Housekeeper Cafe
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I read the reviews for the Supper Club dinners and thought this would be nice for my for my birthday. The food far exceeded my expectations, 4 of us ate there and we tried different choices for most courses, all beautifully cooked to perfection, really enjoyed the starter of mushroom with goats cheese. I heard someone on another ask if it was possible to have the fish curry without prawns, they said that was no problem as all meals are freshly made. My grown up daughter loves the desserts, she had chocolate torte and then most of my Eton mess.
At £19.95 for 3 courses this is cheaper than most places in the lakes and the best meal we have had in over 20 years of visiting the lakes. They also don't have an alcohol license so it is BYO which saves on the nights cost. Cash only as well but ATM is near by. Only seats about 20 people so you do need to book in advance..
We will definitely be back next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexGirlNorthernlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    43
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and lunch place”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We stopped over at the cafe based on previous reviews and weren't disappointed. The soup was excellent - the plough mans lunch was filling and the pork pie as part of the plough mans was very very good. Service was fast and friendly - but we warned they close at 4pm

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food and BYO”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Sadly the supper club is only open 3 nights a week which meant that we could only go once. Otherwise we would have revisited. The food is the highest quality we found in Coniston by a country mile. The restaurant serves as a cafe during the day and so the ambience is fairly basic but this is not a problem as the food and the service are excellent. The prices are reasonable and as we took our own wine the overall cost was excellent. I would advise booking as some people came on spec and were turned away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Popped in here out of the blue due to travelling past, A Beautiful little cafe fantastic food and the best service i have ever encountered.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Four from Morpeth”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent service, meals and atmosphere. Had the last meal of our holiday here and we will be returning for sure. A fitting ending to an excellent holiday 10 outta 10 Colin :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Housekeeper Cafe also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Green Housekeeper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing