We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Tarn Hows

Tarn Hows
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$59.56*
and up
Beatrix Potter's Lakeland Tour from Windermere Including Lake Cruise
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most popular spots in the Lake District, this lake was originally created to supply water to a saw mill.
Coniston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stunning views! Lovely walk around the Tarn, brilliant for children and prams. Only downside is the very expensive car park but there is some very nice toilets and the path etc around the Tarn is very well looked after.

Best time to go - anytime, but in October when the leaves starts turning red it is absolutely stunning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    688
    165
    25
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A stunningly beautiful place, quiet and unspoiled
An easy walk around the lake, just drinking in the views and watching the wildfowl on the lake

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Came here on the second day of our trip to the lakes. Hired a mountain bike and wasn't entirely sure where to go. We came to the end of a road and saw a sign for Tarn Hows. We decided to see what this place was so started biking along the trails, the route was clearly signposted and was a very enjoyable ride with a few challenging climbs in places (whole route is uphill by bike). The weather wasn't the best and after an hour and an insatiable need for a water from the ice cream van we reached the car park to Tarn Hows. The weather created a slight mist/fog that just lingered around eye-level and made you feel like you was in another world!

We got off our bikes (following the no cycling rules!) and walked down the first part of the walkway and found a nice rocky area at the waterside. We sat here for the best part of 90 mins just appreciating the views, recovering from the bike ride and talking to the other friendly visitors before making our way back. I would definitely recommend coming here by mountain bike! The ride back is all downhill and is stupidly fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONGLETON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see and do walk when in the lakes”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the prettiest walks you can do, you can start in Hawkshead and do the 5 mile walk which includes the lake or drive straight to the lake! We have done both... easy parking, gentle 1.5 mile walk around the Tarn (great with children and dogs!) is perfect for a picnic. A MUST!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SONIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Visited Tarn Hows very early on Easter Monday morning, before the crowds. The sun had just come up and it was a crisp clear early spring morning with frost on the ground. The views are breathtaking and when it is still and peaceful like that, it is a rEal pleasure to visit. I would definitely recommend getting up early and getting there before 9, had tried the previous afternoon but it had been packed, so get up, go early and enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graeme F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarn Hows also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Tarn Hows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing