We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best flapjack in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadowdore Cafe

Meadowdore Cafe
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: we provide a variety of dishes ranging from a delicious range of homebaked flapjack,mars and malteser slices,carrot cake and many more to delicious cakes.To homemade meat and potato pie,steak puddings,baguettes,toasties,homemade soups something for everyone look at our full menu on our website
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best flapjack in the world”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stop here almost every weekend for our cafe stop whilst out on the bike.

Great service and what I can only describe as the best flapjack in all of the cafes I have stopped at on a ride. They also make a mean latte :0)

If your in Coniston well worth a stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brollox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    80
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome pies”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The pies here are delicious. Not sure if they are made on-site but my was meat n tattie was still warm 2 hours into my walk...mmmmm

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlimeyCharlieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Flying Fish Barbados”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

After a grueling hike across the hills this was a wonderful place for a great snack and a hot cuppa! Staff were all brilliant.

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Very warm welcome and nice real fire!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The café was dead when we arrived and the counter staff were very pleased to see us. (It was a quiet Weds in Coniston) The food was OK - just OK. We had a sausage and mushroom baguette and a cheese and onion toastie, but they were nothing special. The staff were very helpful in providing cream and milk for coffee which is nice and the cake selection did look nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large portions of nicely cooked food”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on a rainy day just for a coffee but ended up having lunch as everything looked so good. Best decision we made that day. Staff were friendly, tables clean and tidy. Food was excellent, all freshly cooked but not too long to wait. Will definitely remember this one for our next visit to the lakes

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LEZ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadowdore Cafe also viewed

 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Meadowdore Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing