We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break to the Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meadowdore B & B

Meadowdore B & B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowdore B & B
Ranked #6 of 15 Coniston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break to the Lakes”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My wife and i took a few days break to Coniston and our stay at the Meadowdore B & B was thoroughly enjoyable. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very tasty and substantial. The meadowdore is well located and combined with the kind efforts of the very pleasant Francis and all the wonderful staff, offers a relaxed, happy environment in which to spend your time in the lovely town.

Room Tip: The back room has wonderful views of surrounding mountains through the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in April and we weren't disappointed. The accommodation is really clean and comfortable and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. The breakfasts are generous and they had a roaring fire, which was very much needed! You have your own separate entrance so you don't have to come through the cafe and you're not disturbed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMGMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My son's and I stayed at Meadowdore at a time when the Lakes were not at their best. However the room and service were excellent and highly recommended. The staff joined in by discussion and shared our jokes and mishaps. Good advice was given on a variety of topics. We will go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we stayed at the meadowdore for the first time on 15/16 march and would certainly stay again
the rooms are very comfortable warm and clean there is also tea making facilities.the proprietor francis and staff are very friendly and helpful and there is nothing to much trouble.very good full english breakfast.very good location. we highly recommend the meadowdore.thanks for a nice stay. adrian&sue ayres.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and always get the same warm welcome. The rooms are comfortable and very clean with a good hospitality tray for making that ever welcome brew (and there's fresh milk!) There's a good choice of breakfast and if you are not a "morning" person can take from when the Cafe is open. You have your own key itself in the cafes to come and go as you please and you don't disturb anyone in the cafe as the main door is to the side. The range of food is good value itself in the cafe and you can buy anything from light lunches to an evening meal. They sell a wide range of pottery, gifts and paintings by local artists as well as the odd witch or two. Will hopefully be returning in a month or so. If no vancancies we just don't go to Coniston. I guarantee you will enjoy the Meadowdore - just leave room for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbit1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed before at Meadowdore and will stay again! The rooms are well appointed, clean and warm with very comfortable beds. The staff are friendly and helpful and the full English breakfast is great and is served at practically any time during cafe opening times. The separate entrance gives freedom to come and go as you please and it is very quiet at night. The surprisingly low cost of this B&B is an added bonus as we have stayed at more expensive B&Bs which offered far less. Coniston makes an excellent base whether you prefer walking, exploring or just chilling out. As well as high level walks there are many lovely low level walks in this area plus cruises on the lake. We would recommend a stay at Meadowdore to unwind and relax!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just had two nights at this B and B, in a nutshell excellent value for the location, very comfortable and clean room with good TV and brewing kit, fabulous breakfast that kept us going until well into the afternoon even though we were doing some heavy outdoor stuff. Free to come and go, cafe location did not detract in any way as the entrance to the accommodation is via a side door. Lovely view onto the fells from the room we were in. Welcoming and friendly staff who left you to it but were on hand and only too willing to help if needed. Would happily recommend this venue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilvermanLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Lakeland House
Lakeland House
#1 of 15 in Coniston
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn Coniston
Crown Inn Coniston
#5 of 15 in Coniston
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowdore B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowdore B & B

Property: Meadowdore B & B
Address: Hawkshead Old Road, Coniston LA21 8ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that short leisure break or an energetic activity weekend, the Meadowdore provides comfortable, clean, en-suite bed and breakfast accommodation in the centre of the village.Coniston’s four pubs and a bar are only a short walk away.Early or late, a leisurely breakfast is served, including our Full English, which will set you up, whatever your plans for the day.Travelling to Coniston after a hard day’s work? We can arrange for your late arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadowdore B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing