We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1/2 day mountain biking in torrential rain, well we're not made of sherbet!”

River Deep Mountain High - Day Tours
Ranked #7 of 15 things to do in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River Deep Mountain High Activities provides a range of outdoor and adventure sports in the Lake District. We specialise in fun for families, group adventures and team away days. We operate activities in Coniston, Windermere, Ambleside, Rydal, Eskdale and Langdale.
1 review
“1/2 day mountain biking in torrential rain, well we're not made of sherbet!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My friend and I celebrated my looming 40th birthday with a half day mountain biking in Grizedale Forest. Driving to meet our guide/instructor we had hoped the rain would abate a little, it didn't.

Will met us, drove us to the forest, kitted us out in appropriate gear and after a little coaching and gear practise off we went.

It was tough, exhilarating, wet and so much fun! You should have seen us flying down them there mountains! We went to the 'view point' but the weather was so vile we couldn't see a thing (it would have been stunning), so Will got out his shelter, a big tent thing we all huddled in and produced some hot chocolate for us. We sat in that red tent and howled with laughter, luckily there wasn't a soul about!

The day finished with us back at a nearby hotel so we could get changed, we couldn't have been wetter if we'd got in the lake. But as we said, we're not made of sherbet!

Thanks Will, we shall be back, kayaking next time!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CannyMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gorge scrambling - great fun”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I took part in gorge/ghyll scrambling earlier in the year during a friend's stag do, and wanted to come back and give it another go with my wife as I enjoyed it so much the first time around.

We choose River Deep Mountain High because their website was excellent, had all the relevant information available, including availability, and they also scored well on this site. We booked online at relatively short notice (<48hrs) and received all of the information we needed by email and a follow up call.

We went scrambling at Church Beck; Matt was our guide and immediately made us feel at home, and provided us with the necessary equipment and safety brief. The scramble itself is great fun - whilst cold at first, you soon warm up and look forward to getting soaked! There are some challenging climbs and jumps, and weather dependant something for everyone to get stuck into, with most of the challenges being voluntary.

I loved the experience and would highly recommend this to anyone, young and old - there are always groups of schoolkids/scouts on the gorge so don't be put off!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 519mcnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gorge walking - not to be missed”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a morning of gorge walking for me and 2 teenagers. We all had an amazing time lots of fun and laughs. we will definitely remember this activity for years to come .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jasjam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorge Walk near Coniston”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent afternoon climbing up waterfalls and jumping into water pools with my wife, son and 4 others. Instructor was very supportive, especially to one of the group who was a weaker swimmer. Instructor created a great group atmosphere. A challenging and fun packed afternoon, with a well earned complimentary hot chocolate to finish off. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kayaking on Coniston.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Jane and I plus 6 others had a fantastic time in dreadful weather learning to kayak with Johan who made it informative, inspiring and as we say up north, a right bag of laughs!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikehh-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Deep Mountain High - Day Tours also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to River Deep Mountain High - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing