We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bluebird”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John Ruskin Museum

John Ruskin Museum
Ranked #8 of 15 things to do in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bluebird”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

a tiny little museum tucket away in the little village of Coniston. However had fascinating exhibits. Can't wait to return when they have the restored Bluebird on show.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    73
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fantastic bluebird stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visit each time we come to Coniston and again today, they have increased the size and have a life size picture of bluebird, awaiting the arrival of the real thing hopefully. Great information and historical information. I cant wait until they place bluebird in her space.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A total surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband literally dragged me into the Ruskin museum and at first I acted like a petulant child, hell bent on hating it. I have to say that within ten seconds I was completely mesmerized by all of the quirky antiquities, photo's and artwork. This museum may look small but it is a tardis with lots of interesting stories to tell. I would recommend to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank isla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Varied museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Something for everyone. Local history of the Coniston area, Donald Campbell & Bluebird section & of course the John Ruskin part of the museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but factual.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Set in a pretty little village. Very nice to wander around. Loved the little train ride down to the lake. The museum is small but if you are interested in the Cambell/Bluebird story it's great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank littletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Ruskin Museum also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to John Ruskin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing