We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchard Cottage
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Coniston
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Monk Coniston(Coniston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
119
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb boff road parkingfresh fruit and cerealsfriendly hostswarm welcomebreakfasts were excellentpower showervillage amenitiesold manvery comfortable staywithout being intrusivecentral locationguest loungefeel very welcomesteam bistrowet clothingbreakfast was freshly cooked
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

this b and b is located right in the centre of coniston and ideal for all walkers,whilst here me and my partner took in a walk of the old man of coniston which is the range of hills at the base of the b and b.the hosts where very welcoming with excellent facilities and breakfast,would definatly recommend for all people though ideal for walkers.

Room Tip: all rooms offer excellent views
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186337Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Good to hear you enjoyed your walk of Coniston Old Man and thank you for reviewing Orchard Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

What a find... Orchard Cottage, Coniston - absolutely fantastic. Jean and Dave couldn't do enough, checked in early and they'd thought of everything in the room which was most comfortable. Excellent breakfast, they were very welcoming and let us leave the car after checkout whilst we visited the Ruskin Museum across the road. We would highly recommend this B&B... if you go, be sure to ask Jean to show you her quilting and Dave the garden which was phenomenal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herindoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

It is greatly appreciated that you have taken the time to write your review. Thank you. Unfortunately the garden has taken a battering the last few days with the heavy rain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed in Coniston to attend a wedding, they were incredibly helpful and let us check in early (the wedding was at 11:30), and we returned very late after the party and it wasn't a problem at all. The bed was very comfortable, the room was modern and spacious. There were lots of choices cereals for breakfast and an excellent cooked breakfast. They kindly let us keep our car there when we went for a walk the following day. Would stay here again and would definitely recommend it if you are staying in Coniston.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolce309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for writng a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a very good 3 night stay at Jean and Dave's B&B. Friendly reception, clean and comfortable rooms, cosy lounge, first rate food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for writing your review we are pleased that we could help you enjoy your stay in the Lake District

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

3 night stop on Cumbria Way- north to south. Hosts picked us up from ODG and took us back following morning. On third day walked to Ulverston and bus back to Orchard Cottage for £2.75. Superb breakfast, comfortable room and great shower. Highly recommended for anyone doing The Cumbria Way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerConiston, Owner at Orchard Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for your review we were pleased that all your walking arrangements worked so well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews