We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family get-together”
other traveler has booked this property
Snowdrops in the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Snowdrops in the garden
Kitchen, with range cooker Kitchen / dining area easily seats 12
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Snowdrops in the garden
Kitchen, with range cooker
Kitchen / dining area easily seats 12
Large lounge with open fire and lovely garden views
The TV lounge with DVDs and board games
Double room with en-suite shower
En-suite shower to bed 1
Twin room with en-suite bathroom
Main bathroom, shower over bath
Triple room, with en-suite shower and double aspect garden views
Triple room, showing en-suite shower
En-suite shower for triple room
Double room with lake view
Shower room shared by two bedrooms
Twin room, with wash-hand basin
Upstairs landing with lovely oak beams
View into the 'secret garden'
View of the garden from the triple room
View of the garden from the twin room
The garden in spring
Daffodils in the front garden
Sunny Bank Farm shore, looking north
Blubells in the copse
Sunny Bank Farm's rowing boat
Games Barn in action
Sunny Bank Farm's canoe
Sunny Bank Farm shore, looking south
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim C
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family get-together”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I can't imagine anywhere better to spend a family weekend celebrating a special event. The dining kitchen with its generous fridge/cupboard space, large oven and hob and equipped with every kind of utensils, pots,pans and dishes was my favourite spot. Those seeking to catch up on the latest news were able to relax in the large sitting room in front of an open fire whilst the football fans could retreat to the smaller sitting room to use the TV. The barn provided the venue for challenges to be put down and the opportunity to prove one's prowess at pool, table tennis, darts or baby-foot. A tour of the property with its extensive lakeside allowed the pretence of being Lord of the Manor. This is a very special place and the tone of the information provided by the owners puts one at ease and makes one feel very welcome. My wife and I, along with our 7 children, 2 in laws and 2 grandchildren will cherish the memory of Sunny Bank farm.

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience - a lovely well equipped house in a marvelous property on the edge of a beautiful lake
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Our mattress!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KendalBec...
Kendal
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Idyllic Lakeland cottage”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

For a large group of friends this could not have been better. Brilliant location for us, spacious layout, big kitchen table for everyone to eat together, wonderfully equipped kitchen, bags of charm and a stunning garden to top it off. Daphne could not have been more helpful or efficient in getting everything sorted for our stay.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Staying in a true Lakeland cottage with bags of room and character
Liked least: The beds weren't the comfiest but that can be personal taste.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton200...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellence surpassed in shed loads”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We planned and booked our stay to help celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary.We truly had a Golden Holidayat Sunnybank Farm.We were three generations and everyone had a very special holiday in a truly wonderful house and amazing garden, beside , on and in the lake and on some surrounding walks Many relived the "Swallows and Amazons" story they had seen the DVD before our arrival.the great availability of quality water transport, plus our own, made Peel Island a daily target.We had wall to wall sunshine throughout and many breakfasts and BBQ's outdoors.One young one reckoned it was "the best week of his life so far" , others thought the environment offered much needed peace never found elsewhere.The house was so very spacious and you never felt on top of each other, the two lounges being huge contributors to that feeling
The house was so very well equipped, the ice machine was hugely popular , the games room was used at all hours.As some with a professional life strap line of "only excellence will suffice", SunnyBank Farm exceeded this aspiration in shed loads....a view shared by all 12 of us.
We had five cousins and partners visit us.They were all of farming stock and Cumbrians, they were in awe, curious of its history and will be recommending to their families, for certain.
We commend this wonderful gem and haven in the hills and beside the lake, without the slightest reservation.We enthused hourly and daily and were so very happy throughout our stay.The youngest generation cried out unanimously in the Visitors Book....."we MUST return again soon"
We have one of the prints of SUNNY BANK FARM on our wall to relive our stay when families return to our home this weekend
This was easily the best of our 50 events planned for our Golden Wedding Anniversary.A truly memorable "golden, five star , outstanding holiday venue and location
Geoff Edmondson OBE ( and 11 others)

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outstanding location and provision
Liked least: Not applicable.....perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoif
Lancaster
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay!”
Reviewed March 12, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay here, and it felt like coming home. The house is so comfortable and welcoming and the 10 of us had a fabulous long weekend. We did a couple of activities whilst staying there. Trail Cycling with River Deep Mountain High, which was brilliant and canoeing/kayaking via the caretaker of the farm. This too was a great experience and would definately recommend! We rowed over to Peel Island, made a small fire and drank champagne and had a picnic to celebrate a friends 50th birthday - a wonderful day. The grounds to Sunnybank are beautiful and we"re already planning our next stay.

Date of stay: March 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REVFS
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed February 21, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Wow! This house is totally wonderful. It has lake frontage so we have been canoeing in February! It is a beautifully kept, warm and clean house with everything you could possibly need to come with any grouping and age group (Though we haven't located a lemon juicer for pancake day!!!). Games room, boating stuff, HUGE TV, DVDs log fire, separate sitting room and TV lounge etc etc etc. This is our second visit and certainly not our last. It is a really wonderful place - I totally recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting and the comfort
Liked least: the pattern on the bedding!!! That's all I can think of!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing