We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compliments to the chef!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry's Bar - CLOSED

Harry's Bar
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Compliments to the chef!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

While staying in Ambleside on our trip to the lakes, we visited all areas and found that Harry's bar was our favourite place to eat, well worth the drive to Coniston. We went on a Friday which was steak night, the steak was delicious and cooked to perfection, served with all the trimmings and a juicy, fresh Italian salad. Most places serve side salads that are brown, dry and rubbery which get left on the plate, but Harry's chefs clearly know what they are doing!. Returned the next night and had tasty pasta, gorgeous tomato bread and a saucy lasagne. The seating in the back could be improved with nicer table's and chairs , but the service was fantastic, very helpful, cheery staff. Will certainly visit again when in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank siddy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Millom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Popped in for a pizza while staying on a nearby camp site. The food is excellent - and very reasonably priced (a refreshing change compared to most other Coniston establishments). Staff friendly, service prompt and efficient.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice food and good service in small restaurant/bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on 19th July as part of a weekend walking, enjoyable food, friendly and helpful service (from Kirsty :-)), and nice atmosphere. Options limited in Coniston so there's a danger of being complacent but it didn't seem that way here. We happened on "steak night" and my son (almost 20) really enjoyed his steak. My wife and I had Italian food and both enjoyed it. No problems recommending it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spaggs-n-Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porstmouth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We eat there on the last Saturday in June. Would I recommend? A very deep clean and a massive improvement in customer service and it might be worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thecolliers42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb food but poor ambiance.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good meal at Harry's Bar last week. The pizza was as good as any we have eaten in Italy and the pasta was just perfect. Couldn't fault the service and good wine by the glass. However the place needs a proper sort-out regarding the ambiance. There was non-stop dance music playing fairly loud which meant that we were glad to leave straight after the meal, rather than stay for a sweet and coffee. If the place was sorted out properly they would certainly get a lot more paying customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing