We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant interior,food good but dear.”
Review of The Sun Hotel

The Sun Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Restaurants in Coniston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Preston,England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant interior,food good but dear.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had drinks and food here after wet day on the fells,nice interior,think quaint cottage style. Good choice beers,food good but expensive,was £13 for cumberland sausage with mash,same price for burger and chips,service unremarkable,not asked if wanted any accompaniments,a minor point I know just being factual for the review. Would probably not eat here again but would call in for a drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    72
    52
    38
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Food Review”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just spent three nights at the hotel and am commenting on the food

Night 1 -
Fish, Chips, Mushy peas and tartar sauce - Amongst the best my husband has ever had

Sausage, Mash, Onion Gravy and Veg - very nice and local sausage

Night 2 -
Lasagne - we both had this and it was very nice, meat could have been a bit more whole but overall with the garlic bread was lovely.

Night 3 -
Burger, Chips - Very good
I had the fish and chips - very nice and better than some i have had.

The puddings we had were, Strawberry and Rhubarb cheese cake and ice cream both were very good.

Value for money I would state they were reasonable if a little pricey.

The waitress was very good, very attentive and very helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Overpriced food though the real ale was excellent. Service was very poor. Whilst eating we were asked if the food was ok and asked for another glass of wine. Unbelievably we were told the waitress only brought food out. We were the only people eating and were directed to go and buy our own drink (mid meal) at the bar. Needless to say they lost a sale!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good PR board in the village but doesnt deliver!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

food is average, although the choice of real ales is very good! Backs on to the main path leading up to the Old Man, so has a captive audience both on the way up and down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorersfromEaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK (expensive) Food but great ale”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Called into the Sun Hotel for a meal after a days walking. The first thing to say is that for real ale enthusiasts this is a great place to visit. I think there were about 8 different ales on offer.
The food was less impressive. Firstly the menu didn't offer much choice with only 6 or 7 items on the menu though there were another 4 items on the specials board. I thought the food was pricey even though it was clearly homemade. I had the burger which was over £12 (as was everything else on the menu). The food we had could only be described as ok. Everything was priced as a hotel even though the experience was in a pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Hotel also viewed

 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to The Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing