We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poppy Cottage Coniston - great location with stunning views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Easy walk into Coniston for pubs and shops. Photos don't do the cottage justice. Immaculately clean with decent size bathroom including decent shower and great size bedrooms. Views are spectacular. Useful back lobby /utility room for wet clothing and dogs. Parked the car and walked by foot all week as all amenities close. Great walks from door both to Old Man and to Lake and plenty more without touching main roads. Can't wait to return to use log fire in colder weather although central heating as well. Useful little garden area across path with a bench to enjoy the view. Highly recommend. Very peaceful and not many walking or driving past your windows.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetpeaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we have now added new photographs of Poppy Cottage. We agree that the views are spectacular and the cottage location is fantastic. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coppermines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 246 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the second year we have stayed at this cottage. Once again we had a great holiday in this clean, stylish, bright and cosy cottage. The location is perfect for walks around the Lake and into Coniston. Inside the cottage there is everything you need for a week or 2 away from home. There is ample parking and the garden is the perfect place to sit and relax with a glass of wine and a good book. If it gets a bit chilly the wood burner makes for a welcome addition. Our dog (Jess) and 8 year old son also loved the cottage. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Sunny Brae Cottage, we are glad that you, your family and Jess the dog enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coppermines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had a week's stay at the Old Post Cottage in the heart of Coniston. The cottage is very clean with new kitchen, which was very well equipped. The lounge is open plan with large oak beams, comfy leather sofas, dining table for four and very cosy. Upstairs was particularly lovely, with fresh bedrooms both ensuite (exceptionally clean and pretty new). One is a showeroom, whilst the other is a larger family bathroom with overbath shower. The Bath is also a jacuzzi bath.

There were 'pull down' bunk beds in both rooms, as the cottage is advertised a up to 6 birth, but I would have to say if you do use these, you would be pretty cramped and would only be suitable for small children to use.

There is the very nice addition of a Hot Tub just outside housed in its own 'log cabin' which can be used by both Old Post and the adjoining Bridge House cottage - it was very welcome after long days walking. We also enjoyed the outside 'sun deck' space that was just across the road from the cottage - next to the stream with benches, full of flowers in full bloom and amazing views of Coniston hills which was great for eating breakfast in the sunshine, and for enjoying a pre-dinner drink in the evenings as it kept the sun all day. There isn't any grassed space though, for dogs. The nearest grass space is a 5 minute walk down the road.

We were provided with clean towells, and upon request additional towells were provided immediately. Any needs can be catered for by visiting the attached shop that also accomodates the office base for these cottages.

The cottage is right in the heart of Coniston village so easy walking distance of four pubs, shops and mini-supermarket. Also, really well placed for all Lakeland walking and activities.

The cottage has parking for two cars, and you can take up to three dogs (not upstairs). Cleaning products and handsoaps were provided, including teatowells. My only very slight critisim was that the downstairs carpets looked like they were due a replacement, but that was a very minor observation. Check in was 4pm - which we thought was a bit late in the day, and check out 10am, however, there are plenty of nice places for brunch or lunch while you wait for the cottage key!

Coniston is a beautiful unspoilt spot, and all the pubs were lovely, the Sun Inn was the best for food (new chef) closely followed by the Ship Inn which was great for home cooked pie and chips - just a 10 minute walk up the hill. All the pubs allow dogs, (Yew Dale you have to sit in the bar with dogs). There is also the Watershead Hotel, a 15 minute walk down hill, but we were dissapointed that this place, despite its beauty and excellent views, had no atmosphere inside and you could only sit outside with dogs. But would really recommend Coniston to visit.

Room Tip: Both really nice rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay at The Old Post Cottage. The owners of the cottage were pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Coppermines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We spent our Easter break at Sunny Brae cottage with another couple. The cottage is perfectly situated for walks by the lake and it's central location makes access to other areas very convenient. It's peaceful location makes for a very relaxing experience.
The cottage itself has ample parking for 2 vehicles. Inside it is clean, bright and sufficiently well equipped to allow lovely dinner parties to be prepared. The lounge is cozy especially when the log fire is roaring. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. The plumbing pumps are a little noisy, but can be switched off at night and the twin beds a little small and soft for me, but these are just minor details.
Overall a lovely holiday cottage in a great situation and very good value!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank BirchIandV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your review of Sunny Brae Cottage, we are glad that you enjoyed your time at the cottage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Pretty cottage, stunning view, sun deck and garden make the most of it. Some problems with crockery etc not clean, washing machine not working, beds not made up. Happy to say all resolved promptly and politely by Coppermines - good service!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Swllwmzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank your for your comments.

We are very grateful that you raised the housekeeping matters with us promptly so we could attend to them straight away. As soon as the owner was made aware of the problem with the washing machine he instructed us to replace it and one of our team drove to Kendal to collect a new one the same evening so it could be installed the following day.

We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday and hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Shhhhh...keep it quiet....if we told you about this wee gem of a cottage then we couldn't keep it all to ourselves. Lovely 3 bedroom property, very clean, simply furnished, all you need for a home from home and very well positioned to explore all of the lake district. A very good company to deal with, excellent website, does what it says on the tin, and our feedback was on their web page before we got home....top quality, well priced, lovely garden, although steep steps, a wee breck at the bottom of the garden, a hot tub to soothe the aches of the day, and peace and tranquility. The Ship Inn pub is 2 minutes along the road, lovely food, beer and hosts that were very attentive and chatty. Coniston is a 5 minute walk along a designated footpath through 2 fields, keep the dog on a lead as the sheep and lambs are everywhere.
We cant say enough positive things about Netherbeck cottage and we also scouted out some of Coppermines other properties, they all looked good quality, in good locations and well looked after.
We enjoyed it that much that we are already planning to return later this year.
If you decide to book this wee gem for a holiday then we sincerely hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Rear rooms have view to the lake, but do not have clothes hanging space Front room has good views t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of Netherbeck Cottage! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Coppermines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

My family and I spent a week at Sunny Brae over the 2013/2014 New Year period. The cottage was perfect. Very comfortable, homely and had everything we needed. The living area is very generous and has a wonderful wood burning stove (which we used every day!) The real Christmas tree the owners put up (complete with lights/decs etc) was a particularly lovely touch (this was the first time we'd been away at Christmas and I was a little worried - with two young children- that it wouldn't feel Christmasy. The addition of the tree was a lovely surprise!).

The bedrooms were just as comfy and each have the added benefit of their own bathrooms (so no squabbling in the mornings!)

As one would expect, weather was cold (not a problem) but very, very wet (but so, I guess, was most of the UK!) Still managed to get out and about most days (although had to turn back one day as the road into Ambleside was flooded!)

Recommend the Tarn Hows walk if you have young kiddies as it's not too hilly or long and perfectly suitable for little legs!

Altogether a very relaxing holiday, just what the doctor ordered and would highly recommend the cottage to anyone wanting to stay there. We have holidayed in the Lakes many times in the past, but the location and Sunny Brae cottage itself was so appealing that we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Sunny Brae Cottage, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Coppermines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#2 of 6 in Coniston
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#3 of 6 in Coniston
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,402 reviews
4.6 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages

Address: The Estate Office | The Bridge, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Coniston
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a range of over 80 individal and unique holiday cottages in the Lake District sleeping from 2 to 35 people. Cottages of quality and character, all independently graded by VisitBritain to three, four & 5 star standard. Cottages sleep from 2-35 people and we can offer a choice of properties to meet guests specific requirements from cosy traditional 300 year old cottages with lots of character to modern village centre cottages. Cottages are available for full weeks, weekends or mid-week shortbreaks. Pets Welcome. We can offer cottages suitable for families, larger groups, house parties, and romantic weekends; cottages with lake views, log fires, spectacular views, walks from the door and all set in the beautiful landscape of the Lake District with easy access to the lakes and mountains.Full property descriptions, lots of photos, prices, special offers and live availability can all be viewed on our web-site. For further assistance please call our reservations office in Coniston where all our team have first hand knowledge of all our properties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coppermines And Lakes Cottages
The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages Hotel Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing