We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half Way Up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Man of Coniston

Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Half Way Up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

i have visited Coniston many, many times over the last few years, and love the base of Old Man. Being an Old Man myself, i have never reached the top, because i have never tried. The route i take,along with wife and dogs, starts on the road past the Bluebird Brewery. Initially, it is steep, but after 15 or so minutes, the path widens and flattens out, and there is a beautiful walk next to the crystal clear river. It takes half an hour or so, alongside the river to reach the old copper mines and youth hostel.Normally a packed lunch and a bottle of Lucozade, refresh us to the point that we are able to descend back to the village. Indeed, one of my favourite walks, which we will be doing once again w/c Oct 28 2013.

it's a little sad that i can't make the top, as in my younger days i did the 3 Peaks inside 24 hours. Snowdon / Scafell Pike / Ben Nevis - -Who knows, i might do it in 2 weeks time ! If you see me and my wife and a gorgeous border collie called Copper - -say hello

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    65
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lothian
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easier if you avoid the rocky path!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great exercise in great weather. Busy on the top but met few people on the way up. There is some parking part way up but we walked from Coniston.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LothianPinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Long trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went up to Swirl howe first the opposite way to the last time we did this route found the route down from the Old Man much more difficult to find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brucie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the world
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Old Man of Coniston with 4 kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Prior to doing this i searched the web for people who has attempted this with kids, as I didnt find that much here is my view of doing this hike with kids.
We did this in September with 4 kids 7,9,11, and 15. We walked from Coniston village, climbed old man coniston and returned to the village. My kids LOVED it, they aren't experienced walkers, in fact this week was the first time they had hiked in the UK.
I would recommend the right boots, the right weather and water to drink. The top was cold and misty, other than that the kids aced this and the sense of achievement they felt was amazing. When i told them it wasnt the highest in the Lakes - their reaction was - ok lets do the highest!!!
Summary - choose a good day, take plenty of water to drink, good hiking boots and even a 7 year old can do it!

Have loads of fun

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackjke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a moderate walk with interesting sites all the way up, starting with Church beck then disused slate mines and a tarn not forgetting the views from the top.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakesisheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Man of Coniston also viewed

Coniston, Duddon Valley
Keswick, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Old Man of Coniston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing