We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissful honeymoon escape!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah-Jan...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blissful honeymoon escape!”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Granary for our honeymoon and it was just amazing. High end finish provided a luxurious romantic hideaway that we were very sad to leave. Facilities were fantastic, we wanted for nothing! Perfectly situated in an area of the Lakes so that there's plenty of places to explore, Cockermouth, Keswick, Honister & Buttermere all within 20min drive. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
I'm delighted that you enjoyed the Granary and our area for your honeymoon getaway! I hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanderer6...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage retreat, excellent break!”
Reviewed February 28, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wanted a last minute weekend break. Booked in the morning, arrived that afternoon. Peaceful, idyllic location, beautiful and luxurious cottage. Wonderful for a romantic getaway! Amanda, the owner was so accommodating, and we had a memorable and relaxing weekend away! Will definitely be going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
I'm delighted that you had a good time! Thanks for staying and hope to see you again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinks28
tinks28
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful ! Wonderful home from home with everything you could need and more.
We stayed for a week and can't fault it.
Lots of information on local area and places to visit. Very helpful owners friendly and close by but not at all intrusive. We will definitely return
Thank you so much Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
Thank you so much for coming to stay! I'm delighted you had a good time and hope to see you again, best wishes, Amanda.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very polished cottage, the finish and fittings are first class, if you are a hiker or simply need a relaxed break we would recommend the Granary Escape, easy to find location with plenty of activities close (including pubs with good food), a few nice gifts left for us on arrival (tip - don't let anyone get to the cake tin before you!). You may not want it or it need it but the wi-fi is reliable and speedy unlike some we have experienced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2016
Thanks so much Alan for your kind review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay - come back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legoodes
2 reviews
“A lovely cottage in a fantastically quiet location bit within ane easy drive to the Lakes.”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for 1 week and had an absolutely fantastic experience. The cottage was ideal and was more than suitable for a couple or 4 people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you so much for coming to stay and for your lovely comments! Kind regards, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sceptical...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Small high spec relatively recently rebuilt end of terrace. Well kitted out. Nice finishings and furnishings. Great base for walking in the Western Lakes. Owners live next door but aren't intrusive. Random cakes provided which was a nice touch. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you so much for coming to stay and for your lovely comments! Kind regards, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englandsn...
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the place to stay!”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Granary Escape is a wonderful place to stay. The accommodation is beautifully appointed with all the facilities of the highest standard. Our stay was only of three days but we will certainly be back. The location is ideal for visiting both the Western Lakes and the Cumbrian Coast. We would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting a quality self catering holiday cottage in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2016
Thank you so much for coming to stay and for your lovely comments! Kind regards, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing