We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic get away for city dwellers”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Skiddaw

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mrs G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic get away for city dwellers”
Reviewed May 17, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

This was our second visit to southwaite green and once again was fantastic! As a group of 3 families with children from 5yrs to 13yrs there was something for everyone! The location meant that we could travel to walks that were appropriate for all our abilities with the outside areas around the barns allowing our children to run free! The accommodation is fab in all the barns and the pictures on the website are a true reflection of the quality and cleanliness. We will be returning next year!

Date of stay: April 2011
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bleakhous...
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little gem in wonderful countryside location with superb views”
Reviewed May 10, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

We have just returned from Southwaite Green having spent 5 days staying in the cottage called "Skiddaw", 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, open plan living room (upside down) you sleep downstairs and open plan living/kitchen/dining is on the first floor to take in the wonderful views. There is an outside deck area with table/chairs and overlooking fields and mountains in the distance - absolutely superb quiet location near to the north lakes of Buttermere/Crummock Water where there are ample walks. Eco friendly environment (see their own website) which works well and yes, it really is 5* accommodation. You are just 2 miles from Cockermouth but feels like you are in the middle of nowhere. If you want a quiet relaxing time in comfort then Southwaite Green is for you, really I could not fault it. The kitchen is well stocked which means you can cook anything and there is a small dishwasher so no washing up (always a bonus)! There is also a washing machine on site with a washing line attached to the wall outside your own cottage for drying it really is "home from home" but with spectacular views. We are reasonably well travelled and Southwaite Green offers top notch facilities and beautiful surroundings - I can wholeheartedly recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed April 14, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yorkshire...
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Look forward to returning”
Reviewed April 8, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Had a great weekend in the Lakes with my parents, my husband and the dog! Skiddaw cottage was beautiful - the beams and upstairs lounge and kitchen had breathtaking views. The cottages were set in a quiet location with a nice walk around the site which was ideal for mornings and late nights for Jess the dog! My husband said the only thing lacking was a pub closer by! Marna was very helpful with suggestions of where to eat locally. We hope to return in the autumn.

Date of stay: April 2011
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Reviewed August 10, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Date of stay: August 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, well provided for
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morpeth
Reviewed June 24, 2010 for a stay in June 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cumbria
Reviewed June 14, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Date of stay: June 2010
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.