We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious, very relaxing, peaceful, ethical and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Esther's Barn

Southwaite Green in its setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Southwaite Green in its setting
Southwaite Green and the fells, Esther's Barn on left Upstairs living, with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Southwaite Green in its setting
Southwaite Green and the fells, Esther's Barn on left
Upstairs living, with wood burning stove
Kitchen area
Oak bed detail
Dining
Esther's Barn on left
View of the yard
Oak dresser detail
Bedroom with shower room in background
Bedroom detail
Upstairs in Esther's Barn
View from the picnic spot
Stoop at the viewpoint
Footbridge from the beck
The spectacular setting
Esther's Barn living area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MrsH75
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Luxurious, very relaxing, peaceful, ethical and extremely comfortable.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Southwaite Green is a fabulous, peaceful, pretty and luxurious place to stay with the added bonus of being both ethical and environmentally friendly.
Marna is a perfect host, with great attention to detail.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean and truly five star self catering venue.
A selection of local fare, vegetables and essentials as well as fresh flowers greeted us on arrival.
The site surrounding it is beautiful and perfect for either a peaceful stroll or a voyage of discovery for little ones.
This was my third visit to Southwaite and I always truly relaxed here. Each time standards are as high as before and our stay just as enjoyable. I travelled with my husband and two young children and I cannot recommend it highly enough - in fact I have recommended this venue to both friends and family. And I have already booked to return again in 2012.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLea013
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, excellent accomodation, friendly owner and lots to enjoy without going far”
Reviewed June 17, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

We statyed at Southwaite Green for a week from 4/6/11. It was very easy to book via the internet. The cottage was very clean and is well equipped to a high standard. The owner, Marna, was welcoming and the local produce, including veg box and beer, was great. It was interesting and inspiring to see and hear about the approach taken to applying sound environmental principles to the buildings, their interiors and operation and the grounds. Wonderful also to be able to have access to such beautiful grounds and to be able to sit out in the evening at the property, relax and observe the wildlife.

The country lanes around the property were quiet, rich with wildlife and with great views of the surrounding hills. It was easy to enjoy walks from the property such as around the Whythop Valley and to some of the lower fells such as Sale Fell and Low Fell. The eastern shore of Bassenthwaite Lake is close by, is beautiful and at this time of year also has the ospreys to see.

The closest town, Cockermouth, was full of independent shops including an excellent book shop, outdoor gear shop and shoe shop, as well as excellent places to eat. Keswick is also only a short drive away,

All in all a fantastic place to stay whether you want to simply relax at the property, try out ecologically sound living or enjoy the wonderful Lake District landscape.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewed April 10, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tykefogey
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Esther's Barn - a superb holiday cottage with green credentials”
Reviewed April 9, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

We stayed in Esther's Barn, one of four rental units at Southwaite Green, in April 2011. We had a warm welcome from Marna who showed us where to stow our bikes and later showed us the innovative technologies employed on the site. Esther's Barn itself is a two bedroom cottage with two superb en suite bathrooms on the ground floor. Upstairs there is an excellent open plan sitting, dining and kitchen area with French doors opening onto a raised patio area.
The location of the cottage amid farmland but within site of the Lakeland fells was exactly what we were looking for. We were able to bike to nearby Cockermouth (3 miles), Keswick (13 miles) and down to Loweswater (6 miles). Driving, we were able to be walking up on to the Buttermere Fells within 20 minutes of leaving Esther’ s Barn. In short Southwaite Green offers great 5* accommodation in an exceptional location. The cottages are also situated within newly landscaped grounds which are worth a visit all on their own. The other brilliant feature of the cottages is the use of environmental technologies for heating and waste water treatment as well as electricity production. We can unreservedly recommend Esther’s Barn, Southwaite Green for a first-rate holiday in this most beautiful area of England.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
Reviewed October 31, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed September 24, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire
Reviewed August 24, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing