We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour”
Review of Jennings Brewery

Jennings Brewery
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Parkgate, Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Fascinating, interesting and well worth a visit! The tour guide really knew his stuff! With reef beer at the end!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    42
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK if you like beer”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was dragged along on a tour but as I hate beer it was not my thing - to a beer drinker it must have been interesting but I was bored - Sorry!

Helpful?
Thank Hazlehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what sundays are meant for”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

sunday 30th sept, pouring rain outside, who cares, me and my fiance are at jennings. 12pm beer festival starts plenty of local ales to sample, 2pm on the brewery tour, liked the tales from the tour guide, loved the smells when walking round, 3pm in the brewery cooperidge pub for a taste, all this for 4 pound, tried a half of every beer and was in heaven, then it was back over the courtyard to the beerfest and hog roast, it all finished at 5pm so was forced to go and sample more of jennings liquid delights in the local pubs i am hooked, will be on the lookout for jennings beers at other beer fests round the country, especially jennings snecklifter.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank anthony j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Why not keep it open??”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Did the tour 2 years ago and the bar is open for those on the tour and the beers are spot on perfection drank in an atmospheric brewery room.
Managed to get in during the recent Food Festival for a pint - still great ales so why oh why don't they operate as a regular pub? At the moment you can only get a beer if you have a meal.
Come on Jennings, OPEN UP THE BAR!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beer to see and taste”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

An interesting tour showing the brewing process and all the ingrediants involved. Small brewery so you can see it all in a fairly compact area. And you get treated to a tasting at the end!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennings Brewery also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Jennings Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing