We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Hayloft for excellence”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Hayloft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Country style bathroom
Power shower over the bath
Lawned area including barbeque and picnic tables in front of The Hayloft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Diana W
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Hayloft for excellence”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I stayed at The Hayloft for 4 nights the first week in August, we can highly recommend this property. Peaceful, well equipped, comfy seating, lovely bathroom and a great king size bed. It had everything, even a nice view of the garden, very friendly and really helpful owners, we will certainly keep The Hayloft in mind if we return to this area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you stay in our accommodation and I do hope we may see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idris r
1 review
“Very nice accommodation, great location”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time time staying in this lovely loft space. The accommodation had everything we needed for a peaceful stay, wish we could have been there longer!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Hayloft, hope that we may say you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
big-blue...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
684 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Another superb stay at The Hayloft”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a lovely restful holiday we had again at this comfortable cottage.
Everything anyone could need is here.
We relax so much here. The outlook over the garden is beautiful.
The area is just right for us and even in the summer we found the closest lakes uncrowded.
Thank you Julie and Nick for providing such a lovely place to take a well earned break away from busy life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2016
We were delighted to welcome you back to Redmain and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in The Hayloft again. Very much hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spc66
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very understanding of need to cancel”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I booked in error, having confused this property with a different one that was pet-friendly.
Whilst there was no obligation to refund, a near full refund was agreed, for which I was very greatful and for that I'm happy to offer this review of the hosts' very decent behaviour.
Jeff

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Thank you for this, and we were more than happy to refund in full for our part, as it was a genuine error. The only charge was the Trip Advisor admin fee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randall H
Everett, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“comfortable rental property and good amenities.”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Finding The Hayloft was no problem for our Garmin GPS plus the written directions supplied by the owner via email. One other rural rental property we stayed in elsewhere was a nightmare for us to find using GPS. This unit has a washer/dryer that we appreciated being able to use. We found that the washer/dryer, oven and microwave had no user directions and the mode of operation of each was a true challenge to finally figure out (they were unlike any American appliances we have ever run into). There was plenty of room and the bed was comfortable. We appreciated prompt email communication from the owner/manager prior to our trip and we did not have to call her once we arrived at the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the presence of a clothes washer/dryer.
Liked least: No user instructions for the appliances available. Lugging a heavy suitcase up the long staircase was a challenge.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AilsaHall...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The hayloft was a really nice place to stay. It had everything we needed and the owners were very friendly.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Redmain.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieAnde...
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy Little Get Away”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful place with lovely friendly owners and dog. The gardens are totally outstanding! We are intending on visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful gardens!
Liked least: Had a little trouble finding it at first!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing