We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect on all counts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Six Castlegate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cockermouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Six Castlegate
Ranked #1 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Châteauponsac, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect on all counts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the enthusiastic welcome, to the spotless, crisp bed linens, comfortable beds, well appointed bathrooms and the most delicious freshly cooked breakfast you can imagine, Alan and Angela have a sharp eye for detail and most importantly, absolutely know what makes a stay....a great stay. Everything here is faultless.
My husband and I have stayed all over the world in luxury resorts and supposedly top notch business hotels....absolutely none of which can compare to the comforts of Six Castlegate. I really want to keep it a secret to ensure that there is always a room for us, on the other hand, Alan and Angela are fully deserving of all the praise they receive.
This boutique B&B is simply perfect, I just wish there could be a Six Castlegate in every country we visit. Becky and Martin

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Munro-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
101
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small, but perfectly formed - this Is so much more than just an ordinary B&B. The whole place is spotlessly clean and beautifully presented; our room had a fabulous shower and extra large, very comfy, bed - this really must be one of the best value places to stay in the Lake District. The owners are friendly and welcoming and breakfast excellent! We wanted to stay longer and will definitely plan to stay again on our "secret getaways" to the Lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are looking for comfort, brilliant hospitality and excelent food look no further. It was an unexpected visit as we were meant to be staying at a nearby guesthouse that booked us in for the wrong day. We had 15 minutes to get changed and get to a wedding! The owner saved the day and and took us to the church as we didnt know the area! We just beat the bride! Many thanks for saving the day. The guest house was welcoming, extremely clean and had a lovely feel and atmosphere to it. Helped by the lovely owners of course. Breakfast was fab, gorgeous fresh fruit, choice was excellent we were well fed! II had to even ask about where they got their mattress and pillows from as I had a wonderful night sleep! Nothing was to much trouble. Reasonable price and worth every penny. Close to the lakes its well worth staying here and exploring the area. Many thanks xx Clare and Richie from co durham

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bclare123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a hidden gem. Lovely bedroom, good shower, comfortable bed, cleanliness excellent, breakfast beats some of the five star hotels I have stayed in. No car park but places close by....it becomes totally irrelevant as it is a privilege to stay somewhere where the hospitality is excellent and their are no concerns! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Butlers Pantry is a single room on the ground floor, its compact but feels more spacious than it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilajaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Guest comfort is paramount, with wonderful attention to detail. Alan and Angela show such thoughtful care to meet each guests individual needs. The rooms are well appointed, bright airy and very comfortable. Lovely breakfast choices. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern and Sue G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This classy and stylish guesthouse in the centre of Cockermouth is a gem! From the friendly and accommodating hosts, delicious breakfasts to the well appointed rooms with everything the weary traveller requires.
Angela and Alan could not have been more helpful especially when we had a mix up with the booking.
But the amazing spotty tea pots are a true delight!

Room Tip: not suitable for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotley bridge
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a lovely weekend in Cockermouth staying 2 nights at Six Castlegate. The room was beautiful, very spacious and had all facilities. Delicious breakfast..very nice fresh fruits. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in "Blencathra"....fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barleylodge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
7.8 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Castlegate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Castlegate

Property: Six Castlegate
Address: 6 Castlegate, Cockermouth CA13 9EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Six Castlegate Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing