We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #1 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

just returned from a one night stay for a wedding. Wish we were staying for longer as this is a fantastic place to stay. Eddie was so friendly and helpful. The whole hotel is beautifully decorated and everything you could possibly need was available. Breakfast was great and what a choice there was ! Well done Croft House you have got it right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becksLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 224 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

I cannot rate my 3-night stay highly enough. Great value, great attention at booking, tolerant and flexible with my partially unconfirmed arrangements, fabulous breakfast (definitely not same as, same as here), beautiful room with tasteful modern furnishings, free internet, quiet location albeit in town and for me a mark of real attention to detail; I bought myself a bottle of wine to drink in the room whilst I worked in the evening and used the bedroom's normal chunky water glass, but when I arrived back from my work the next day - a lovely wine glass was there in the room instead. They noticed! I am impressed and the only sadness is that I was there on business and there won't be too many chances to visit this oasis. Eddie and Barbara, take a bow, you do a great job.

Room Tip: Just tell Eddie or Barbara your needs, and they will do the very best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am probably going to be repeating what everybody else has said in praise of this wonderful place. Lovely rooms, welcoming hosts and the parking is a real bonus as the public car parks with Cockermouth's one way system can be a little complicated to reach. We found Cockermouth absolutely delightful with lots to see and do and some really different shops. The town seems to have used the awful floods to revitalise itself as it now looks wonderful although local people have terrible stories to tell about their experiences when the rivers ran through the town. Very handy to be able to walk to the Jennings Brewery tour especially as you taste a pint and a half of pretty strong beer. We enjoyed eating at the Bitter End and Tarantella which does an excellent early bird meal. The walk around Buttermere is delightful and fairly flat with beautiful views all the way round. Would like to have stayed there longer and I am really sure we shall go back. Lots of fruit at breakfast, home made bread and breakfast specials, in addition to the full english, including kippers and smoked haddock while we were there. We didn't want anything else to eat until the evening!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very impressed with our stay. We would most definately stay here again. It was value for money, very clean, very spacious and the breakfast was great! I would recommend to anyone. Also the staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyandMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed for just one night as we were doing the Jenning's brewery tour - but wished we could have stayed longer.
Excellent location in the town centre with parking (a real bonus!) and a warm welcome from Eddie gave a good first impression. Lovely room - spotlessly clean - and all the facilities you'd expect in a top hotel. The breakfast was huge and freshly cooked - with local ingredients.
If you want to explore the quieter North Lakes / fells, go the extra few miles from Keswick and see the delights of Cockermouth - but definitely stay at Croft House.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymru-hillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night to break up the journey back from Scotland. What a fantastic classy B&B, and reasonably priced. The decor is moder and in good taste. The hosts were friendly and helpful and they have a 'breakfast special', ours was eggs benedict. I was really surprised how nice Cockermouth is, although just outside the national park, it is only minutes away. There are loads of places to eat, I'd say more than Ambelside and maybe Keswick.

The guest house has got some parking which is not always the case in Cockermouth.

Room Tip: We had room three... Quiet (apart from bin day on a thursday!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice clear website that told us everything we needed to know. Good prices and comfortable accommodation. A great place for our overnight stay away from family and kids for \valentines. Nice choice for breakfast and good sized portions available. Quiet sidestreet so no traffic noise. Eddie and babs made our night away from home very enjoyable. Recommended for couples

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
707 reviews
3.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six Castlegate
Six Castlegate
#3 of 16 in Cockermouth
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Address: 6/8 Challoner Street, Cockermouth CA13 9QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range: $102 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing