We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing value”
Review of Graysonside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Graysonside
Ranked #2 of 15 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“amazing value”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

stayed here with my mother and 6 year old child. Stayed in a self catering 2 bed bungalow on wheels. what am amazing find, well worth every penny. the bungalow was very spacious and spotless. the owners of Graysonside where very welcoming and knew lots about the area. on the way home happened to bump into Kentmear, this is a small and buzzing town with plenty going on.
also went to the zoo, umm, I didn't feel this was worth the entrance fee, but the animals did look happy.

I will definatly go back to Graysonside, lovely location... Oh, breakfast is worth a mention and anyone going here must try it.

Room Tip: stayed in the two bedroom. It did get a little chilly at night, but the owners provided extra blanke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 177ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
69
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here on business a few weeks ago and what a find! (due to premier inn being full)

In reverse, a five star breakfast prior to departure. The scrambled egg deserving a mention alone! Some other lovely touches, including the five fruit platter. Handy location, just minutes outside of Cockermouth, a town with enough restaurants and pubs for a choice of an evening meal.

I stayed in a large spacious suite ( room number 2), furnished and finished to a very high standard. Free wifi, making it a perfect stopover for business traveller. Will be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 2 if available is a suite rather than a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in the lake district this is it.
Immaculately clean, cosy, and a very good breakfast to set you up for the day.
Lorton village pub is close by, which i can recommened.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishpondblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having stayed at Graysonside B & B in the past we were pleasantly surprised to be offered the recently added 2 bedroomed lodge for our recent 4 night stay with our Trainee Guide dog. It really was home from home, warm, spacious and comfortable. En suite shower room to the master bedroom and a 2nd bathroom. Well equipped kitchen complete with dishwasher . Everything you could want for a long or short break.

Breakfast is still available in the main house if required and our hosts were their usual helpful and caring selves.

Can not recommend enough. ( Cant wait to go back !! )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElyCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Janette and Andrew are wonderful hosts and they serve the best breakfasts in the Lakes! The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable and offer very good value for money. Always our first choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The apartment we rented was clean spacious and private. The service from the staff was so caring and they catered for your every need with a big smile. We will most definately will be returning soon. Graysonside made our valentine weekend that little bit more special with the service we received. Thankyou from alex and tom

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at Graysonside a few times with work, but more recently I've returned two years running with my wife. Andrew and Jeanette are exceptionally friendly. The location is ideal for exploring the north lakes, being a stone's throw from Buttermere, Grassmoor etc. Rooms are superb as are the breakfasts....We'll be back sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the "suite" - thinks it's room 6. You get your own little lounge area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapHappyChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
254 reviews
2.8 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
196 reviews
5.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graysonside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graysonside

Property: Graysonside
Address: Graysonside Farm Lorton Road, Cockermouth CA13 9TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Graysonside 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graysonside Guest House is a former Farm House offering high quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in Cockermouth. All rooms provide space, quality and comfort. Apartments are also available at affordable prices for both Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering. Graysonside is set within the Lake District National Park and is just a few minutes away from the centre of Cockermouth - home to one of our famous poets William Wordsworth. Graysonside suits both corporate/business and tourist guests, situated in a very good location for both the Western Lakes (Bassenthwaite, Loweswater, Crummock and Buttermere), as well as the towns of Workington, Whitehaven and Maryport. We are only 20 minutes' drive to Keswick and 30 minutes to Carlisle. Due to its location Graysonside is streaming with wildlife, we are regularly visited by a red squirrel, a Great Spotted Woodpecker, an abundance of garden birds on our feeders and rabbits roaming the garden. You can sit and watch our wildlife from our breakfast room. Graysonside also offers the additional benefits of free off road parking, a secure cycle lock up and free Wi-Fi. Graysonside has been recognized as five star gold by the English Tourism Council and rewarded a breakfast award. We look forward to welcoming you to Cockermouth and providing you with a wonderful stay at Graysonside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Graysonside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graysonside Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing