We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Ouse Bridge House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ouse Bridge House
Ranked #6 of 16 Cockermouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at Ouse Bridge House last weekend for two nights. We arrived to a warm welcome on the Friday night and were shown to our room by Claire, we booked a double with the separate bathroom which was just over the hall, a dressing gown was provided so as to not bump into anyone in the hall in your pyjamas which was a lovely little touch! The room had everything you need and we were fortunate enough to have a room with a lake view which was lovely. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was delicious. We were attending a wedding at the near by Armathwaite hall and there were no problems with us coming back to the Guest house late on. We would definitely return here to explore more of the beautiful surroundings.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a very clean and comfortable double room overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. We had a wonderfully friendly greeting from one of the owners, Claire, and felt immediately at home!
That evening we ate in the b&b, cooked by Claire's husband, Steve, and it was delicious. We broke with stereotypes - men having steak and hubby chicken- and were both blown away by the quality of the food and the execution. My steak was melt in mouth delicious and hubby said his chicken was flavoursome and he could have eaten it daily. We both embarrassingly managed to polish off a sponge pudding and custard too! (It was our holiday!).
We enjoyed the honesty bar, the banter and chat with Steve and Claire and the stunning view from our bedroom especially. They are lovely people who make you feel welcome but don't impose too much, which we have experienced elsewhere. The breakfast was tasty and lots of choice, setting us up each day for activities. Well, one long walk in the foulest ever weather, then a quieter day.
Although we enjoyed the Pheasant Inn the next evening as well, and the Italian in Cockermouth for our final eve, we will return mainly to experience Steve's cooking again.
And yes, we would come back like a shot. Can't recommend the place highly enough. And we both adored their two dogs, Kaya and Kirby, too. Made us feel like we were at home with ours- though we asked for cuddles, they were not in evidence unless you wanted them to be!
Fabulous.

Room Tip: A Lake View room is well worth it. You really see the Lake, without having to stand on a ledge, or l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night on 15th Feb 2014. We were welcomed with a warm smile, and a very warm hotel which was great as it was so cold outside. We were given a complimentary tray of tea and biscuits in the residents lounge which overlooks Bassenthwaite Lake. There is also a licenced honesty bar, stocked with various spirits etc. We were shown to our double bedroom which also overlooked the lake. We were fortunate enough to have blue skies and sunshine during our stay which made everything look so picturesque. The bed in our room was very comfortable, the full English Cumbrian breakfast was cooked to perfection, and the choices available were numerous. Definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely return sometime soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cockneyshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

One night stay in mid November. Arrived in the dark, so what a thrill it was to open the curtains and take in the wonderful view the next morning. A comfortable night's sleep, decent internet access (it worked on the top floor) and good breakfast. How do they get the fried eggs done so perfectly?

Room Tip: It's got to be a room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and tidy. The lady was very hospitality, gave us a lot advice for where to go. If I go to Lake District again will definite stay here!
Only one point is there's no hot water after 10pm.
Overall it's a great hotel with acceptable value!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is an excellent place, run by some extremely friendly and helpful people. Travelling a lot for business means I stay in hotels every week and this B&B is better than a great many of them. We stayed here on our way to completing the C2C bike ride and they are cycle friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Sited mid-way between Cockermouth and Keswick on a quiet road overlooking Lake Bassenthwaite.this must be the best B&B I have used in the UK
The lovely couple who own Ouse Bridge did everything in their power to ensure our 4 night stay was memorable

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook Skiddaw and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
4.8 mi away
Croft House
Croft House
#1 of 16 in Cockermouth
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
520 reviews
5 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
312 reviews
7.2 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
293 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ouse Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ouse Bridge House

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | Dubwath, Cockermouth CA13 9YD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cockermouth
Price Range: $100 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ouse Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ouse Bridge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ouse Bridge House Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing