We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal country retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
Cosy lounge
Cosy Lounge
Log Burner alight.
Wall View
The Log Burner on Full Coal, Real hot!
Bedroom
Bedroom
Newly fitted Double shower in Revamped Bathroom
Newly fitted Kitchen
Rear area, however, tree no longer there.
View from front of cottage
Sunset over Allonby beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Barry828
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal country retreat”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from 3 wonderful days at Stable Cottage.Steve and Elaine were excellent hosts.The cottage is ideal for a couple ,we asked about bringing our dog not a problem.The welcome pack was a bonus.Allonby is perfect for a walk with or without a dog.Keswick,Cockermouth are not far away all with dog friendly pubs.Will definitely be back. Thanks Barry &Jennifer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack,peace&quiet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2015
Thanks Barry and Jennifer for such a complimentary review. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage where you will be most welcome again at any time. Thank you for leaving the cottage in such great order - much appreciated. Kind regards Elaine & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fidlers3
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy!”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Stable Cottage for 2 nights 2nd-4th October and can't rate it highly enough! Steve and Elaine were excellent hosts and have really thought of everything you could possibly need during your stay. They really go the extra mile with all their thoughtful touches. The cottage is ideally located for exploring the Lake District and is so nice and peaceful. It was so nice to get away from city life for the weekend and we only wish we had booked to stay for longer! We will definitely be back! Katie & Matthew x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2015
Dear Katie & Matthew Many many thanks for such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Stable Cottage - do by all means come for longer next time - you will always be most welcome in our little community at Wardhall - it would be great to see you again. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer6...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing break away from city life”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thank you for such an incredible weekend, we have enjoyed every moment of it. We brought a lot of food but arrived to lovely homemade goodies! Everything we needed was provided and much more, including bikes allowing us to explore on foot, and a slow cooker for us to come back to after a long day exploring. The locals were so friendly and the bed was so comfy. So much more than we expected- including a map of the local area and a homemade CD. We couldn't have wished for anything better for our first break away as a couple, thank you so much! And we hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2015
Thank you guys for such a complimentary review and such a lovely comment in our visitors book.Although your stay was short it seems that you really enjoyed it and we would certainly love to have you back again here in Wardhall as although this was your first time away together hopefully it won't be the last! Thank you for leaving the cottage in such good shape - it is appreciated. With best regards Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennybull...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem! Fantastic location. Highly recommend.”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely welcome including a handwritten and crafted card.

Excellent cottage with full amenities. Wonderful welcome pack, including homemade Olive and herb bread, scones and cake, butter, local cheese, milk, wine, tea, coffee!

The cottage has many resources, you really can travel light with all bedding and towels provided.
Steven was a very amendable host, friendly and warm, gave us excellent local information, hand drawn maps and a very good, comprehensive information pack on the cottage and local area.

We think the value is very good at over half the price of other accommodation we had looked at.

A trip to the beach was as promised, about a 10 minute drive away and a completely deserted beach with amazing views towards Scotland and luckily for us a warm and sunny day.

We spent a day at Derwentwater, strolled through Keswick, then parked at the theatre by the lake and walked down to the the lakeside and had a picnic on the grass, jets flew overhead as well as geese, ducks and swans. It was idyllic.

We found the location to be very good, away from the hustle of the 'Lakes' in a forgotten corner, Cockermouth a few minutes away, where William Wordsworth was born. Quiet roads, great accessibility and wonderful Landscapes. We will definitely visit again, our visit felt like a taster and left us wanting more.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thank you so much for such a lovely review and comment in our visitors book. It is always such a great pleasure for us to feel that we have exceeded peoples expectations and given them an enjoyable stay in this peaceful part of Cumbria. We shall be delighted to see you again in Wardhall - you will be most welcome. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A great way to relax, beautiful scenery quite idyllic countryside, if only we could find a way to keep the farmers quiet .
Steve and Elaine were perfect hosts, it was like they were old friends that you had never met before. Family and friends will be told of this jewel that sits on our doorstep. Will have to start looking for next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Dear Andy & Fiona Thank you so much for your lovely review.It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage and an even greater pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We'd love to see you again in Wardhall where you will be most welcome. Kindest Elaine & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707veroni...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A warm welcome to a beautiful place”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owner and nothing was too much trouble everything was explained in great detail , the views are spectacular and the peace that surrounds it is idyllic .

The beautiful heartfelt touches of the cake, biscuits and breads and the card to welcome us were outstanding .
The neighbours were just as welcoming if your looking for a great holiday a fantastic cottage then this is it .
We will be back next year and again many thanks to the owners .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Many many thanks for such a lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed our peaceful location and your stay at Stable Cottage. We look forward to seeing you again next year when you will be more than welcome again. Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon T
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just returned from a weekend at Stable Cottage which we would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet break. We were greeted by Steve who was extremely helpful and informative about the area, and gave us a welcome pack comprising yummy local produce. The cottage had everything we needed and was ideal for the two of us (plus our dog). There are some lovely walks nearby, the beach is a 10 minute drive (try the ice cream shop) and there are two pubs in the next village within walking distance. If you haven't explored this quieter part of Cumbria then look no further. Thanks to Steve (and Elaine) for your hospitality - especially the cakes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted that you had such a good time on your first visit to this part of Cumbria. It was our pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage and glad that you enjoyed the peacefulness of Wardhall. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Kindest Steve & Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing