We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage Cosy lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Front view of cottage
Front view of cottage
Cosy lounge
Cosy Lounge
Log Burner alight.
Wall View
The Log Burner on Full Coal, Real hot!
Bedroom
Bedroom
Newly fitted Double shower in Revamped Bathroom
Newly fitted Kitchen
Rear area, however, tree no longer there.
View from front of cottage
Sunset over Allonby beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Richa20
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage!”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked the cottage for my Dad's birthday and it was a lovely unforgettable time!

The cottage was lovely and the welcome pack waiting to greet us on arrival was such very welcoming. The cottage is well equipped with everything you would need for a very relaxing time.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone considering booking the cottage and hope to go back there soon for a much longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2015
Dear Richa Bless you for leaving such a lovely review. We hope your Dad enjoyed his birthday treat despite the weather. We promise that,contrary to what most people think, it does not always rain in the Lake District! Hopefully if you come again , which we very much hope you will, the sun will shine for you. Kindest Steve & Elaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Accomodation of the highest quality...”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We would highly recommend Stable Cottage - having been greeted with homemade lemon slices, herb and jalapeno bread, homemade scones, homemade marmalade, lake district cheese and wine, we knew from the start that we was going to enjoy this stay!

The owner - Steve - made us feel welcome instantly and gave us the guided tour of the cottage which was exactly what we was after. It was comfortable and fully equipped for a short break. The welcome pack was also highly detailed however this wasn't really needed as Steve gave us all of the information that we needed.

The location of the cottage was ideal for us as it is a short drive away from various local amenities and most of the key locations in the Lake District.

The only downside is that we didn't spend more time in the cottage as we didn't get to explore the area as much as we would have liked!

Will definitely be back next time we are in the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2015
Dear Natalie & Daniel. Many thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Stable Cottage. Only sorry that the snow and ice defeated your attempt to get to the summit of Scafell Pike when you were so close!. Maybe that's an excuse to come in the better weather to make another attempt and if you do you will certainly be most welcome again at Stable Cottage.Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baberry
Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wonderful mini break.
Cosy cottage and lovely hosts.
Highly recommended. It's a beautifully quite part of the lakes. Easy access to the sea and the lakes.
Gorgeous welcome pack of homemade goodies.
Thankyou Stephen and Elaine.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2015
Thank you for your very positive review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay particularly as you were celebrating your engagement.You are right when you say that this is a quiet part of the Lakes - but we think it is all the better for that! Hope to see you again sometime at Stable Cottage. Best regards Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
710joe
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic getaway retreat”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Excellent place to stay and one we will remember forever . Thank you for the warm welcome and treats including a bottle of wine cheese bread and card it really made us both smile. Very dog friendly and perfect quiet location would highly Recommend.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2015
Dear Joe
Thank you for your very kind and complementary review. We are so glad that you had such a lovely time particularly as you chose Stable Cottage as your venue for you to pop the question. Many,many congratulations on your engagement. I think you are the first couple to get engaged here.We both wish you every happiness and success in the future and would be delighted to see you again at Wardhall.Kindest Elaine & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHi...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have wished for better!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment I began contacting Stephen, I was welcomed and never felt stressed about the entire process. This continued when I arrived and just got better and better. The cottage is beautiful, perfect for two people looking for a quiet relaxing getaway. On arrival we were met with an array of home baked goodies, a fridge filled with the vitals and many brochures and maps of the surrounding areas to help with deciding what to do during our stay. The electric fire kept us nice and toasty during the evenings and the kitchen had every utensil you could possibly want! We took our dog with us and the secure back garden was fantastic for letting her out without fears of escape! I would 100% recommend this place to friends and family and anyone else who happens to wish to stay in that neck of the woods. Will definitely be returning in the future! Thank you for making our stay so wonderful!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unexpected extras
Liked least: That we didnt stay longer!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Dear Michael & Ceri Many many thanks for such a complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Stable Cottage . We are also glad that we got to meet you before we left for our family 'Turkey and Tinsel' weekend. We really do value the reviews and comments that we get both on Tripadvisor and in our visitors book - it helps us to ensure that we give our visitors the best possible experience. We do hope to see you again sometime in Wardhall. With all best wishes Steve & Elaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2014
Dear Chris & Sophie. Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and certainly hope that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you again sometime. Great that your classic car was up to the highways and by ways (and sometimes very steep passes) of the Lake District and that you had a safe journey home to Peterborough. Best regards Elaine & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David1980...
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bucket fulls of little touches. x”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Well we have just returned from a mini honeymoon at Stable Cottage and I can honestly say that we can't wait to go back, we are already planning a weeks stay next summer.

We arrived at the cottage to a genuinely warm welcome from Steve and from there it just kept getting better. Steve and Elaine, we can't rate you or Stable Cottage enough and we honestly mean that. The home made goodies, olive bread, cakes scones and shortbread, (Wayne said especially the shortbread) along with local cheese and a very welcome bottle of wine would have been enough but you really do go the extra mile, and that's what makes this little gem of a place so special. The little hand made gift and card congratulating us on our wedding was a beautiful, thoughtful touch that we both appreciated to no end.

The cottage itself is the perfect size for 2. It's warm and cosy and very well equipped. There was everything we needed and more. Even the basic store cupboard staples are provided, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, cooking
oils and a selection of herbs and spices. There is a box filled with local information, maps etc, but if there is anything you want to know just ask Steve. It is furnished beautifully and although the stairs are steep, they just added to the character and charm of the place. Plus the front and back gardens are available to use for bbq's or just to sit with a cup of tea for a while. There is wi-fi available, although weak in the living room I had full signal in the kitchen, not that it would have made any difference, I didn't have any service on my mobile phone, Wayne did but Steve did say it depends on which provider your with, but again it made no difference. We were on holiday after all!

The location for us was perfect, close to the coast where we went for a walk, and a few miles drive to Cockermouth for shopping etc. Plus Gilcrux was less than a mile walk away down the lane, we ate at the Masons arms, lovely food, very large portions, but the wine is over priced. Worth a visit for food though. Plus Aspatria is a short drive away, which has a few shops, places to eat and take aways should you fancy it.

We only had a weekend stay so I'm sure there is so much more to do than I am able to comment on, but for us, it has been a lovely weekend getaway made even better by the home from home feel you get at Stable Cottage, this is down to the effort made by Steve and Elaine. Thank you both so much and we will see you next year.
David and Wayne. xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2014
Dear David & Wayne.
What a lovely review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Stable Cottage particularly as it was your honeymoon and you obviously wanted everything to be perfect. We really enjoyed having you here and are delighted that you are hoping to come next summer. You will be more than welcome.Hope the hustle and bustle of Wigan is not too hard to bear after the tranquillity of Wardhall. Thank you again for taking the trouble to write such a comprehensive and complimentary review. With best wishes Steve & Elaine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing