We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Portion and Presentation.”
Review of The balti club - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The balti club
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Portion and Presentation.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided to try out Balti Club due to all the other restaurants fully booked. We were apprehensive at first but were greeted with very kind waiters who seated us very quickly. The decor is slightly tired and the menu’s could do with being updated, but what matters was the quality of food! Starters consisted of salmon and sheesh tikka kebab - presentation was spot on, good flavours (sheesh had more flavour than the salmon) and great portion sizes. Whilst we waited for our mains we were given complimentary poppadums with dips (which would have costed £3 otherwise). Me and my partner decided to share a chicken tikka pathia with a couple of chapatis. The portions are a generous size and our curry was very tasty, although not spicy enough for my other half. Happy with the overall service and experience, would return if we are around again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryport, United Kingdom
1 review
“horrible service”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went at 7pm tonight finally got asked for our order at 7.20pm our food came at 8.05pm. The man that served US did not know what was what on the menu, no apology for waiting, no please and thankyou. Nobody made US feel at home. Once our food arrived the waiter left our food on the serving trolley beside US and went back to the kitchen for 5 minutes. Once he returned he had forgot what was on the plates so just placed them in front of US for US to decide. The takeaway orders seemed to be more important than the customers in the restaurant. Would not recommend to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank foody546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant Balti”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just had a really great meal at the Balti Club. My wife and I decided that we were not 'starving' and opted for their on going £8.95 offer of a main,with rice and a Naan.
I have to say that the quality of the food served was superb. As too was the service which was excellent.

We enjoyed and would therefore recommend:
Lamb Jalfrezi and Prawn Korma and the plain Naans were the best we have had in a very long time. The portion sizes were great and we would definitely eat here again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmormous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and a Bargain!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were advised to visit the balti club from our B&B and we were so glad we did! There was four of us, we all got two drinks, a starter each and extra poppadoms, three rices and a main course each and it only came to £70! Absolute bargain for some of the best indian dishes i have ever tasted.

Nice decor and great service. The location down the lanes can make people miss this but it should definitely be the place to visit during any stay in Cockermouth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelly1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality Indian food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant is partnered with the Spice Club and is less busy and easier to get a table in at the weekend.

Service and standards are great and we expected that this would be the case as the Spice Club has such a good reputation in Cockermouth.

We have enjoyed our meals here and hope that it continues to build it's clientele. My husband is from Birmingham and we love Balti's. it is good to be able to see similar quality dishes in Cumbria to those in cities well known for great Indian food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The balti club also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing