We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thinking of going......... DON'T”
Review of Kingfisher Inn

Kingfisher Inn
Ranked #31 of 74 Restaurants in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Kingfisher is situated on the main road leading to the centre of Cockermouth, a very busy market town. The pub is very traditional in style, with wooden floors, exposed beams and a cosy ambience. There is a separate dining room, which can be booked for private functions. The kingfisher offers traditional pub food which is locally renowned for both quality and value for money. We offer cask ales and wines to suit most tastes. The Kingfisher boasts arguably the best beer garden in Cockermouth, which leads down to the River Derwent and hosts a large Bouncy Castle which is available at all times free of charge. There's nowhere better to be on a warm sunny evening. BT Sport, free WiFi and a pool table are also on offer. Car parking available.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Ok. Visited the Kingfisher a while ago for food. Out of six of us I was the only one to find my food reasonable.

Decided to go back this month, it was a Sunday and she suggested it. Reluctantly I went.

I ordered steak pie, she ordered a Sunday lunch only to be told after buying a drink that they no longer had any steak pie left. 3 other people ordered this after us and had also already ordered drinks. I was offered something else in its place and at this my friend was told there was no turkey left for her Sunday lunch. We decided to go elsewhere but were still charged for drinks.

This pub is in desperate need of a make over as it is dated and grubby. The toilets were shabby and dirty.

I will never go back to this place unless it's had a lot of money spent on it and taken over by
New owners.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKingfisherCumbria, Director at Kingfisher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi,

Please let us start by apologising for the fact that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. There are a couple of points we wish to address.

Yes, we did sell out of the steak pie. We had a very busy Saturday evening and unfortunately this did leave us short for the Sunday lunchtime. This does happen from time to time especially with our more popular dishes of which the steak pie is one. We apologised at the time of your visit and as we are sure you will appreciate these things do happen and are somewhat out of our control. The member of staff working did know that we had sold out and failed to tell you at the time of ordering and for that we apologise. All that being said, we can only recall one person ordering the pie after yourselves and he was perfectly happy ordering something different from the menu. You say that your friend was told that there was no turkey left for their roast which leaves us confused as we had plenty of turkey left for the rest of the service and see no reason as to why you were told this.

You mentioned that you were charged for the drinks and yes this is true. However we don’t see any reason as to why you shouldn't have been. We understand that it may have been a gesture of good will to give you the drinks on the house if you really had had a bad experience however every effort was made to find you a suitable alternative and it was your decision to go elsewhere.

The pub is a little dated, yes. However this is part of its charm and a lot of people do find this appealing especially visitors to the town. The pub is awaiting refurbishment from the brewery and it should be happening sometime in the near future. The toilets are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis as is the rest of the pub.

To say that you will never return to The Kingfisher is unfortunate. We do have a lot of repeat trade as the vast majority of our customers leave having had a very enjoyable experience.
If you wish to discuss any of your grievances further please feel free to come in at your convenience or give us a call on 01900 823449.

Kind regards,
Mark & Marie,
The Kingfisher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a very poor pub.It looks attractive from the outside, inside it was offering poor range of drinks, the tables where placed around what i would imagine was for potential customers to stand around.

1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKingfisherCumbria, Director at Kingfisher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi,

We would like to apologise to you for the fact that you didn't enjoy your visit. We do have a rather small selection of beers on offer however we are limited by only having a very small bar. The tables are situated around the outside edge of the bar area as having them in the centre of the room would make it difficult for customers to reach the bar.
The pub is due for refurbishment at some point in the near future and this will involve rearrangement of the bar area.

Kind regards,
Mark & Marie
The Kingfisher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Kingfisher is under new management at a time when most of the Jennings pubs are up for sale. The keg beer is relatively basic along with the menu and conspicuously unpretentious ambiance. The value of meals at the Kingfisher is really good - with a generous plateful of gammon and chips for just under £8. The pub itself is on the main road - Crown Street and has some parking spaces alongside together witrh a beer garden overlooking the River Derwent - really pleasant in Summer!

The front bar is a little tired and fails to convey much sense of character or personality. The menu is far from diverse, but portions are good and everything is efficiently cooked - resulting in great value pub grub. Most of the clientel are locals and the pool table occupies most of the space in the room to the right of the door.

Staff are pleasant and service is good. So if you're after an unpretentious pub, lots of grub for your money and keg ale, the Kingfisher fits the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alasn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKingfisherCumbria, Director at Kingfisher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi,

We would like to thank you on behalf of everyone at The Kingfisher for your very kind review. As you stated, the bar area is a little tired looking and is due for refurbishment in the near future.
Once again, many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Mark & Marie,
The Kingfisher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family and I came for my sons birthday and weren't disappointed the food atmosphere and service were top notch! The huge bouncy castle outside was definitely a bonus and kept the kids entertained while we had a couple of after dinner drinks! I would definitely recommend this pub if you like good homemade food and service with a smile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucky135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKingfisherCumbria, Director at Kingfisher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi,

Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your son’s birthday party and that you were pleased with the food and service. The bouncy castle has been a very popular addition to the beer garden and has been enjoyed by children of all ages. We are looking forward to getting it back up as and when the weather permits!
Thank you for your positive review.

Kind regards,
Mark & Marie
The Kingfisher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The Kingfisher is a straightforward pub that serves decent pub grub with no frills. Friendly and welcoming staff add to the feel, and the beer garden is second to none, plus the addition of a bouncy castle means the kids love it.
Beers are limited but Robinson's Trooper is worth a try for ale fans.
This pub has potential, hope they can realise it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andypandypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKingfisherCumbria, Director at Kingfisher Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a positive review.
As you pointed out, the Robinson's Trooper is well worth a try and has pleasantly surprised many seasoned Jennings drinkers! Roll on the good weather so we can get the bouncy castle back up!

Thanks once again for your review.
Kind regards,
Mark and Marie.
The Kingfisher.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Inn also viewed

Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
 
Cockermouth, Lake District
Cockermouth, Lake District
 

Been to Kingfisher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing