We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean and welcoming”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I was welcomed by attentive and helpful staff for a one night stay . Unfortunatly it was not possible to book the restaurant for my group of five, even a few days prior to arrival as it was fully booked. Sitting in the bar later seeing happy clients I wish we had thought about that when booking accomodation. On previous visits I have stayed at the Trout across the road which, although good, I feel the Manor House is probably better value. I will be staying at the Manor House again

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 169 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

Fantastic listed building with wonderful stair case and cosey rooms the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was 5 star

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadgerrally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

If you just want good food this is the place, however the accommodation side has a lot to be desired! Small, basic room and a welcome that Basil Fawlty would be proud of! Dinner was absolutely wonderful and that is where it ended!! A lot of money for not a lot - had better in the big, cheap chains of hotels! Not to return unless someone else was paying!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Happyegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

I have booked this hotel for 2 nights but I managed to stay only for 1 night. Unpleasant staff, very small rooms, no possibility of ironing in the room, very noisy, the only window in the my room was a roof window and it was just over the bed, thus impossible to open when it is raining (very common weather condition in Cumbria) and impossible to adjust the room temperature, no proper restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK_Kent_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank KrOlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
315 reviews
0 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
733 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth
Travelodge Cockermouth
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: $117 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing