We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly private hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A friendly private hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a quiet friendly hotel!
I booked a single room dinner, bed & breakfast deal for just £99.
I was upgraded to a large twin room which had a comfortable sofa.
Dinner was excellent and breakfast was superb.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The building is characterful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stamford_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    29
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
60
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

The lengths that the friendly, caring staff at this hotel will go to in order to help their guests seems boundless. My whole family stayed here recently for my sister's wedding and we enjoyed a lovely meal on the friday night - my cousin was stuck in traffic and was late but was looked after very well, and given his hot meal at his convenience. The lamb was gorgeous, perfectly cooked. My elderly parents were treated like royalty and when my Mum forgot her key card, she was personally escorted to their room and let in. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location is excellent, right in the heart of the town. I'm always impressed by the personal touch, and the Manor House certianly delivered. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are slightly quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire161616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay...Carol-ann & Edward made us feel really welcome. On entering the hotel when we arrived we were greeted with smiles, humour, and a great atmosphere, you good see how happy and pleased the guests were, what a great way to start...the first thing they did was sit us down with a nice cup of tea / coffee which was a really nice touch...

The hotel is olde worldly place which we absolutely love, but not for everyone...the rooms are spotlessly clean and well presented. Carol-ann is a great character who goes the extra mile to ensure you have all your needs catered for. The only disappointment was that we did not sample Edwards fine dining, there was a food festival in Cockermouth so no evening meal, on our travels around the village countless locals informed us he is the best chef in the area, after sampling the fantastic breakfast we had I can believe it :-)

I travel round the world on business staying in various hotels, I know what good customer service feels and looks like, this is it...I cannot fault this venue, and 110% recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasurable relaxing visit to Cockermouth, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

A lovely hotel, clean and tidy rooms, superb personal touch from very friendly staff. The breakfast was superb, I never had an evening meal there however if it's as good as the breakfast you wont be dissapointed. I would definatley stay there again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight ahead of a family christening and the hotel owners couldn't do much more for us as we were made very welcome.

It's a great building and fantastic for kids and adults to explore but not for those who like their hotels modern and glossy. It's a traditional good quality hotel with 5 star service and food. Yes it may be a bit worn in some, unimportant areas, as others have commented on trip advisor but this is one of the things that gives it character. We will stay here again when visiting the family or even when weekending in the lakes which is just a short drive away.

The little things like real home made bread with meals and the ability for the chef to cook just about anything to cater for kids with fussy eating habits make all the difference.

One negative was that until we asked for someone to do it, we were expected to make up the sofa bed ourselves and perhaps this shouldn't have been necessary.

All in all a hidden gem that we have never stayed at in the many years we have visited Cumbria but will do so again in the many more years we will be visiting.

Thank you

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ggtandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a lovely couple of nights at this hotel whilst attending a friends wedding. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice, my boyfriend was particularly pleased that Marmite and black pudding were included in the choices! The room was very spacious and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 and it was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have just been to Cockermouth for the first time and could not have chosen a nicer hotel to stay in. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel was lovely and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing