We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“E&C mcnaughton”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“E&C mcnaughton”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Easily the best hotel we have had the pleasure to stay in. Food lovely. Rooms spotless and the staff very friendly.No noise.Peaceful. Would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    34
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
69
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights whilst working in the area. The hosts and staff were very friendly and welcoming and I felt well looked after. The location is great, right in the centre of Cockermouth with easy access to its shops and restaurants. I stayed in a small single room under the roof which was a bit hot and stuffy (the weather is partly to blame for this - it was sweltering!). The owners offered me to change room of their own accord which was very helpful.

The décor of the hotel and rooms is a bit outdated and dark but everything you need is there, clean and in good order. Free wifi throughout.

Food in the restaurant was good and the breakfast excellent with home made jams and bread.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have just arrived back home after a 2 day break to Cockermouth staying at The Manor House. We have had a wonderful time!

The owners and the staff have all been super-friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms were clean, tidy are really well maintained. Couldn't find fault, it's been lovely!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racheljmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleator moor
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

had a great mothers day @ the manor house good food and very clean keep up the good work

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gedscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I've used the Manor House Hotel, on business, every weekday night for over two months at the start of 2012. I wouldn't look anywhere else in the area. The welcome provided by Carol Ann and Jackie is genuine and warm. Their friendliness rubs off on all the staff - and all are friendly, polite and chatty with the guests. The rooms are fine and have everything you need - warmth, comfortable beds, space to move around, modern showers, free wi-fi access etc. Rooms tend to be larger on the 1st floor, so ask for one there if possible. I've used Beaulieu Cottage (owned by the Hotel), which I highly recommend: I really hope they have it available for me again next time I'm up in Cumbria. Eddie's food is out of this world and you have to try it. Obviously being in Cumbria for so long, I've also tried the many restaurants in Cockermouth - and thoroughly recommend an Italian Restaurant called Portofino's (just over the bridge, in the main street). I've not used the hotel opposite: all I can say is that when I first enquired in Dec 2011, I was struck by the difference in welcome, value (price) and the warm, homely feel offered by the Manor House Hotel compared to that opposite - and I look forward to staying there again in future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor as they are larger and more comfortable than those on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Value for money, loveley home cooked bread and jam, friendly owners, rooms OK

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My Wife and I have just returned from a three night break at the Manor House Hotel and having stayed there many times in the past with both family and friends I thought it about time that we let others know what a lovely friendly place it is. The Hotel feels like a little time capsule with elegant and well proportioned rooms.It is family run and you will usually be greeted on arrival by Jayne or Carol Ann who will make you feel at ease straight away. The Hotel is clean and very well run, the long standing staff are both friendly and courteous.If you choose to stay I recommend that you have Dinner and sample Edward's excellent food which is Inventive,tasty and elegantly presented and one of the main attractions for us. After your meal you can relax with a drink in the cosy bar lounge. The Hotel is well positioned at the bottom of the Towns Main street and is therefore ideal for exploring the many small shops and amenities Cockermouth has to offer,we shall be returning again later in the year.

Room Tip: Phone and speak to Jayne or Carol Ann
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
0.1 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
291 reviews
2.3 mi away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
247 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House Hotel is a unique family run 19th Century Georgian style Grade II listed building, packed with features including, an elegant wood paneled staircase, beautiful high ceilinged rooms on the ground and first floors and original wooden beamed bedrooms on the second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Manor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cockermouth, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing